Chili when it’s not chilly

IMG_1093

This chili is my go-to easy recipe. I’ve made it so many times that I can recite the ingredients by memory. It’s originally from a recipe that I found several years ago on Vegweb.com.

Veggie Chili – makes 8 cups
2 peppers, diced
1 small onion, diced
12 oz package of soy meat crumbles
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce (i used a combo of tomato puree and salsa b/c that’s what I had on hand)
2 cans beans, drained (I used black and pinto)
1 small can green chilis (I didn’t have)
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tbsp oil

Saute the peppers and onion in the oil for about 5 minutes on med-high heat. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil. Turn heat down and let simmer for about 30 minutes.

See, couldn’t be easier?

After dinner, I felt the desire to bake. I’d been wanting to try Super Charge Me Cookies. I think I did something wrong, they were very crumbly and didn’t really stick together before I baked them. I used WW flour instead of spelt but I wouldn’t think that would have any negative effect. I think I didn’t really scrape my bowl of wet ingredients into the dry one well enough and that is what probably caused it. Nonetheless, they were still really good and, because they are so crumbly, could easily be a topping for yogurt.

IMG_1097

One response to “Chili when it’s not chilly

  1. Pingback: A big oops « In my tummy