Clean Eats

When I heard that Heather and Rose were doing a Cleaner Living month, I thought this was perfect timing since I had been wanting to clean up my eating myself.

It took me a while to figure out exactly what I want to do, though. As much as I’d like to only use natural cosmetics, I’m not really there yet. I’m going to focus on food for now and maybe down the road, expand my focus. I think I need to start slowly. Like I mentioned before, I lost almost 35 pounds by eating sugar-free this and low-carb that. So it’s sort of ingrained in my mind that sugar-free with less calories is better than maybe something sweetened with raw sugar that has more calories. I need to take baby steps or I won’t succeed in making this a way of life.

So this is what I’ve decided to do:

1. No artificial sweeteners. If I really, really, really want a diet coke, I am allowed to have one a week but I am going to try to completely abstain. I haven’t had one since Monday morning!

2. No foods with things I cannot pronounce or identify in the ingredients.

3. No enriched flours.

4. I am going to try to stay away from added sugars the best that I can. I have a big time sweet tooth and love me some frozen yogurt though so I’m going to be okay with it in moderation, but I’m not going to keep it in the house.

5. Buy organic when it comes to the “Dirty Dozen”. These are the fruits and vegetables that contain the most pesticides. They are:

Peaches
Apples
Sweet Bell Peppers
Celery
Nectarines
Strawberries
Cherries
Pears
Grapes (Imported)
Spinach
Lettuce
Potatoes

I am also going to try to purchase organic milk. I am not a big milk drinker in general though so I’m not really sure about this one.

I’ve actually done surprisingly well this past week. Like I said, I haven’t had a soda since Monday. I’ve been making my own lemonade at work with water, lemon juice and liquid stevia. I think the liquid kind of stevia works much better in other liquids. Powdered didn’t really melt and also looked suspicious if some should happen to fall on my desk!

One response to “Clean Eats

  1. Congrats on the no diet coke! That is something I am working on too. It’s a big feat to make it through. I gave it up for 6 weeks last summer and then 1 drink on my birthday got me back on the roll.