We’re Engaged!

Friday nights are typically our date night. Jason has a weird work schedule and usually has Thursdays and Fridays off instead of Saturdays and Sundays. He suggested going to Wired & Fired after dinner. We drive by it all the time and I always comment that painting pottery would be a fun thing to do so I was all for the idea. At first the plan was to go to the sushi restaurant where we had our first date beforehand. I didn’t think anything of it since we’ve been there a handful of times since then. On Friday afternoon, I decided that I wanted to try a different restaurant – La Tavola which is right next door to Wired & Fired.

Jason emailed me that day saying he’d made reservations at Wired & Fired for 9 pm. I’ll admit it, I was a little suspicious at that, but thought I was just being dumb.

We’d never been to La Tavola. It was a cute, romantic Italian restaurant. We started out with the grilled calamari and I had the fish stew for my entree. At about 8:30pm, we went next door to Wired & Fired.

IMG_1189

We went to the above-pictured wall and picked out our pieces to paint. I picked a dog bowl for Murphy and Jason picked a cereal bowl. They had a table reserved for us and, even though the place wasn’t very full, I didn’t think anything of it since he’d made a reservation. You’re allowed to bring food and beverage and we brought a bottle of wine. I was sipping it really slowly while I painted my dog bowl.
IMG_1195

After maybe an hour, Jason said he had to go to the bathroom. We were seated next to a half-wall and where I was sitting, I couldn’t see around the wall to my right, which is where the bathroom, and other tables were. I just kept painting my dog bowl and he got up and came back with something in his hands.

IMG_1201

A box from Wired & Fired which said, “Lee, will you marry me?” I was seriously speechless for a second. It was one of those, “Is this really happening” things and I was really confused about where he’d gotten that box! And that he’d gotten a ring. I had no idea! He got down on one knee and proposed. Of course, I said yes! (He keeps telling me that I’m forgetting to tell people what I said when I say he proposed. I said yes, obv)!

The people that worked at the store brought out a dozen red roses and champagne. I was still really confused and when they brought the champagne flutes, I said, “We have those glasses too!” and Jason was like, “They are ours!” It took me a minute to process that he’d put all of this together beforehand. He’d gone there on Tuesday to paint the box since it takes a couple of days to fire in the kiln. He’d brought the champagne and roses earlier in the day. The people that worked there were totally in on everything but I had no idea; they were just acting like we’d never been there before.

IMG_1196

IMG_1199

IMG_1211

Please ignore the fact that my hair looks like an oil slick. I think it might have been still wet. Or I put too much product in and didn’t scrunch properly. Scrunching is very important when it comes to curly hair.

I know I’m saying OMGOMG like I’m a 12-year old, but OMGOMG! I’m engaged!!

ETA – Jason just reminded me that I didn’t say that the ring was in the box. So, yeah, the ring was in the box. I thought that was obvious, but maybe not.

19 responses to “We’re Engaged!

  1. that is the cutest, nicest story. i love it!!! CONGRATULATIONS again!

  2. congratulations! thats so sweet!

  3. that might be one of the sweetest proposals i have ever seen in my life!!!!! congratulations!!

  4. so sweet, i am so happy for you! congrats!

  5. What an awesome proposal!

  6. That is the sweetest, cutest story ever! I’m all teary. So happy for you guys.

  7. Awwww that is the cutest story ever! Jason is such a sweetheart! Congrats!

  8. AWWWWW!!! Super cute story and Huge Congratulations!!!!

  9. Congratulations!!!! That is one of the sweetest engagement stories….props to Jason! You have to be over the moon. πŸ™‚

    P.S. Know EXACTLY what you mean about the curly hair…scrunching is crucial!

  10. Thanks everyone! I really appreciate all the comments.

  11. wow – such a well thought out proposal!!! congrats!!

  12. congrats!! what a great story. LOVE the pictures of the proposal. sounds like jason is a great guy. can’t wait to meet him. πŸ™‚

  13. What a wonderful, romantic and thoughtful proposal. Those are great photos. I am thrilled for you and Jason. He seems like a terrific guy–looking forward to meeting him.

  14. homegirlcaneat

    AMAZING!!! AHHHH I am so excited for you!!!!! I love when guys think things through and nothing is better than an adorable engagement story! Love love love it!! And so happy for you again suga!!! woooooooo fellow CATAMOUNT! haha!

  15. What a cute, fun story!!!! I love it – I love that he did so much pre-planning, that it was a total surprise, that you were just sitting there painting a dog bowl and all of a sudden your life changes. How super fun!! Congrats!!!

  16. Hey there – just wanted to say thanks so much for the comment on my blog! Just checking yours out this morning, it’s great and wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS on the recent engagement!! Love the story, that’s awesome and so exciting. Best of luck with wedding plans!!

  17. you probably don’t know me, but jason is a good friend of mine…he showed me the ring a while back and i was so happy when he said he was gonna go for it..so happy for the both of you…best of luck and great life together πŸ˜€

  18. this is such a cute story! How creative of Jason. I love it!

  19. Awww….I love it! What a creative idea and when I saw the pics of him on his knees? Goosebumps. Congratulations!