Fries: Take Two

I had fries for dinner again but this time they were healthy, baked sweet potato fries. I bought a sweet potato the other day thinking that I’d take it to work for lunch last week. The potato was sitting on my counter looking sad and wanting to be eaten, so I figured I’d do a burger and fries type meal. Hey, it’s Friday night, right?

I googled Black Bean Burgers and perused different recipes until I came up with one that I had the ingredients on hand for. I did make a few modifications. Not to healthify it, actually, but just to use what I had in the house.

Cooking:
IMG_1392

Cooked; with fries:
IMG_1395

Ingredients:

1 15-oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/4 cup dried breadcrumbs (I used oats)
1 large egg, beaten (I used egg beaters)
2 Tbsp dried onion flakes (I used a sprinkle of garlic powder)
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 Tbsp canola oil

Preparation:

1. Place the black beans in a medium-sized bowl. With the back of a fork, partially mash the beans until they are able to be shaped into a patty. Add the breadcrumbs, egg, worcestershire sauce, and black pepper, and mix together well.

2. Heat the canola oil in a large skillet over medium heat.

3. Use 1/4 of the bean mixtue for each patty. Shape each portion into patties that are about 3/4-inch thick.

4. Place the patties into the skillet, and cook on each side about 4 mintues, or until the patties becomes lightly browned and are firm.

Serves 4

They tasted good but didn’t really hold together that well. I blame the egg beaters. A whole egg probably would have helped but I didn’t have one. Still, they tasted good.

I’m having a major craving for expensive, fruity vinegar aka Kombuca. I might have to make a little trip to WF. I don’t know why I like that stuff so much, but I do.

3 responses to “Fries: Take Two

  1. YUMMMMM! They sound great!

  2. Haha, I didn’t even realize that didn’t talk about the fries. They were very good, a bit burnt, but good.