Peachtree 2009

For the fourth year in a row, I participated in Atlanta’s biggest 4th of July tradition, the Peachtree Road Race. I know I’ve talked about this race before, but it’s the world’s largest 10K with something like 55,000 people running it. Registration opens on a day in March and you basically have to register on that day or you won’t get in. This year was the first year that they did online registration (previously you clipped a form out of the newspaper) and also the first year that they had timing chips.

I had promised Jason that I would walk with him when he wanted to. Truthfully, although I could have run the entire distance, I was grateful for the walking breaks. We basically would run to a certain point, a light for example, and then walk until we were ready to run again. This system actually made the miles fly by. We said we wanted to do it in 1 hour and 30 minutes which averages a little less than a 15 minute mile, so a brisk walking pace. And we did! We came in at 1:31. Not bad for walking most of the race.

Afterwards, we got a bunch of free stuff – mini larabars, powerade (which I thought was too sweet and gave to Jason), granola bars and an ice cream sandwich. The hardest part of the entire race though, was yet to come after we crossed the finish line – getting back to the MARTA station. It was seriously a mile walk uphill! There were a lot of groans of, “Where is the station??”, my own bitching included!

I really wasn’t looking forward to this race since I hadn’t really been running much, but it turned out to be pretty fun.

5 responses to “Peachtree 2009

  1. Kudos to you! 🙂

  2. The last race I did, the finish line was at the top of this HUGE hill…and right when I turned a corner and saw it I started bitching too, but then hauled ass so I could get it over with, haha.

    Oh and I use L’oreal Vive Pro shampoo and conditioner, Aussie curl mousse and tresemme finishing spray, lol…My products don’t match, but they work! I also never brush my hair, just use my fingers to comb through it 🙂

  3. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Isn’t it fun?! This was my third PRR, and I can’t wait for my 4th next year! Congratulations to you!!!!

  4. homecookedem

    I did the PRR too! I’m the above Jenn’s sister. I must have missed the mini lara bars!! 😦 And yes, walking to the marta station afterwards is always a pain… and then walking from the marta station back to the hotel… I think we all end up covering at least 8 miles by the end of it!

    Congratulations on a great finish and glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂

  5. Em – the larabars were on monroe, by 10th street.