You Win Some You Lose Some

Don’t you hate it when you put a lot of work into a new recipe and it just doesn’t taste that great? I got the latest issue of Self to read on the plane when we went to NYC a few weeks ago and I couldn’t help but drool at the Jicama Salad with Lime Juice and Fresh Mint recipe. I’m not sure why it appealed to me, I’ve never had jicama. Perhaps because it looked like potato?

I thought I’d peel it like a potato but that was not the case. The skin was a lot thicker and I ended up peeling it with a knife. It took a while to cut, but not in a way different than a potato.

I had to modify the recipe some to use what I had on hand. Here is the originally recipe and I put in parentheses what I did to change it.

INGREDIENTS
1 medium jicama (1 1/2–2 pounds), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice (I used lemon)
3/4 teaspoon chipotle chile powder (or 1 1/2 teaspoons ancho chile powder) (i used 3/4 tsp chile powder)
1/2 teaspoon salt
25 fresh mint leaves, cut into thin strips (I omitted this. Kroger didn’t have any.)
2 tablespoons queso añejo (or feta or goat cheese) (I used TJ’s crumbled goat cheese.)

PREPARATION
Combine jicama and oil in a bowl and toss well. Add lime juice, chile powder and salt. Toss to coat. Divide salad among 4 small bowls, then sprinkle each with 1/4 of mint and cheese right before serving.

It looks pretty, but frankly, it wasn’t that great. The lemon juice was a little overwhelming, I think. Putting more goat cheese on it helped. It looks like hashbrowns and, frankly, probably would taste better if it was!

IMG_1445

Along with the salad, I made Garlic Shrimp with Spinach and Shiitake

IMG_1446

Servings: 4

2 Tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 Tbsp sherry or 1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tsp packed brown sugar
2 1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1/2 lb fresh shiitake mushroom caps, sliced 1/4″ thick
1 lb med shrimp, peeled and deveined 4 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger
9 oz baby spinach leaves (about 12 c)

1. Whisk together soy sauce, sherry, and sugar in small bowl.

2. Heat oil in wok or large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and stir-fry 2 minutes. Add shrimp, garlic, and ginger and stir-fry 1 minute. Add spinach and soy mixture and continue stir-frying until spinach has just wilted (shrimp will be cooked), about 1 minute.

This was good, but not OMG good by any means. Eh, oh well. I guess it happens when you get creative in the kitchen. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s not.

Just like 1+1 = 2, diet coke + Lee = Stomach ache. I had a diet coke this morning for the first time in a while and, what do you know, about 5-6 hours later, I had a horrible stomach ache, complete with bloating and gas. I haven’t had a stomach ache at all since my unprocessed foods epiphany. (I have fallen off the wagon here and there, but generally have eaten a lot cleaner in the last month.)

5 responses to “You Win Some You Lose Some

  1. what does jicama taste like? i have been wanting to try to use it in a salad but not sure what the flavor is? Sorry your recipes didn’t turn out as planned!!

  2. boo – i had a recipe fail on Monday and it’s kinda sad, right? But true – you’ll never know until you try! Sorry about the diet coke – total bummer!

  3. mm that salad is drool worthy if I do say so myself. Love the shrimp 🙂

  4. My friend also just raced in the Peach Tree 10K race. She had a ball. That salad looks glorious.