Road Trip

Jason had a Saturday off, so we decided to take a road trip to visit his parents in Seneca, South Carolina. Normally, it takes about 2 hours to drive there but it took us three due to various things – Jason forgetting something, me wanting to stop at Whole Foods for a Kombucha, Murphy throwing up in the car, me having to pee and rush hour traffic. We finally made it at about 7:30 pm.

IMG_0087

I’ll admit it; I was concerned about the lack of healthy food in the restaurants there. I had been stressed out earlier in the week and, for whatever reason, whenever I get stressed about one thing, I start worrying about food. It turned out to be fine though. Jason remembered that there is a Mellow Mushroom about ten minutes away, in Clemson, so his father, he and I went there for dinner. They split a pizza and I had a build your own salad with romaine, mushrooms, roma tomatoes, black olives, artichoke hearts and tofu.

The next day, we set out to pick some blueberries. These pictures aren’t so great. I thought my camera was in my purse, but it wasn’t, so these are from my phone. We drove to Westminster, SC to a blueberry farm. It was $7 for a gallon. Suffice to say, I have a lot of blueberries to eat in the next week or so. Anyone have any recipes??

IMG_0096

IMG_0100

IMG_0101

Check out that bucket filled to the brim with blueberries! After we left, we decided to wander around Clemson and look for some lunch. Clemson is about 5-10 minutes from Seneca. Since it’s a college town, the food choices were much more to my liking. We found this sushi place and check out the prices, that is $3.56 for 8 pieces. And yes, I’m still alive. A $2 vodka drink might also have been consumed.

IMG_0109

After hanging out for a while, we went back to Jason’s parents house and visited with them and his grandmother for about an hour. Then we decided to play some mini-golf. He won. We went back to his parents house and started a game of Trivial Pursuit. Like always, it got to be around 11:30 and I turned into a pumpkin and had to go to sleep. I just cannot stay awake past midnight anymore! Especially since we had been running around all day. And also especially since I was drinking wine while playing the game.

We got up this morning and drove back to Atlanta. It was nice to get out of the city for a while. I didn’t work out at all this weekend. I could have today, but I was being lazy and took a nap. I also got a load of laundry done, went to TJ’s and Kroger and walked Murphy for about an hour. That counts as exercise, right?

Oh, that reminds me, on Friday morning, I went to boot camp and I was the only person there! Since I’ve been doing it for a few months, I knew the instructor well enough to just have a conversation with him the whole time and it not be awkward. It was kind of cool because it was like having a personal trainer but at the same time it was harder, because he was watching what I was doing the whole time. Hopefully some other people will show up on Tuesday.

2 responses to “Road Trip

  1. Love the title of your blog! 🙂 Can’t believe the price of those rolls! So cheap! I would have probably orderded 5!

  2. So what car did you drive?