Whine, whine, whine

I was a whiny boot camper this morning. We ran 400 meters and then did as many railing pull-ups as possible and repeated as many times as we could for 20 minutes. I was okay with the running part, but the rail pullups, I just couldn’t really do. I was getting frustrated with myself and vented to Mike, the instructor. He kept saying that I needed to do all of the homeworks and that the people who do all of the homeworks are the strongest boot campers. Let me explain, we have class 4 days a week and 2 of the non-class days, we have a homework. The homeworks are something like do 100 squats, 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups and 100 rail pullups. They’re little things like that. Sometimes I do them and sometimes I don’t. The main reason that I don’t is because I feel like if I’m not at boot camp, I should be running and then when I finish my run, I don’t feel like doing more work.

Mike’s right in a way. I’m sure I would get stronger if I did the homework. BUT, I feel like there are some things (push-ups and rail pull-ups for example) that have just not gotten easier in the three months that I’ve been doing boot camp. I mean, even without the homework, these should get easier, right? Or I should be able to do more. I don’t understand why they aren’t and that is frustrating.

Whine. Whine. Wine? Nah. By the way, thanks to everyone who gave me photographer advice. I do have a certain style in mind and I think the one that I found is exactly what I am thinking of. Only problem is she is a bit more expensive than was budgeted. But I think we could cut back on certain things and it would even out. I hope so. The photography is so important to me.

Speaking of photography, here’s a random picture of my baby.
IMG_1461

And I leave you with a question, yet again. I have been growing some backyard tomatoes in a pot and slugs have gotten to them. Gross, huh? I’ve been looking up what to do as I do not want to spray any chemicals. I’ve read that you can put a glass of beer by the plant and the slugs will be attracted to that instead of the tomatoes. Any expertise in the subject? I do not have a green thumb.

4 responses to “Whine, whine, whine

  1. Diatomaceous Earth. It isn’t a chemical. Its made up of silica, sodium, magnesium, and iron. My FIL usues it on all of his vegies, tomatoes included and it seems to work well. It also helps guard against aphids and other pests. You definately want to wash your vegies well before eating them though.

    I think you can probably find the stuff at Lowes or Home Depot, or any gardening center.

  2. With all that work I’d probably whine too!! I’m surprised he wants you to do those exercise 6 out of 7 days.Good luck with it! Sometimes we grow best when pushed!

  3. I see what you mean – i’m not a pull-up-doing kinda girl – can’t do it. 😦 Love the pic of pupper and hope you the photographer you want!!! Pics are SO important especially if you’re like me and are scared of videographers. 🙂

  4. No clue about the tomatoes but your boot camp class sounds pretty intense! Guess that’s why they call it boot camp, huh? 🙂