Hmmm

Jason and I were in the grocery store last night and I felt myself being very, very strict about what I bought. It reminded me of when I struggled a bit with disordered eating habits. I looked at all the ingredients in everything and wouldn’t buy the items unless they met my standards. Back then my standards were low calories and little to no sugar. Of course, I didn’t give a rats ass about how much fake sweetener was in there. Now, my standards have changed. Now I care more about the product ingredients and, for certain products, whether it’s organic or not. I feel that my current habits are much healthier, but at the same time, still bordering on too restrictive.

How do people do it? How can you make sure your food is healthy without going overboard into the realm of orthorexia? Part of me is doing this because of books that I’ve read lately and movies that I’ve seen but I’m not going to lie, a big part of it is doing it to lose weight for my wedding.

I guess where I’m going is here. When you are trying to lose weight, how do you do so in a manner that doesn’t consume your life? Is it possible? Why can’t we maintain a healthy weight without resorting to scrutinizing every label or weighing every morsel? Is it bad to obsessed with eating healthy? And when you do know that it’s become an obsession?

5 responses to “Hmmm

  1. please let me know if you find the answer. i am the same way..i used to look for the lowest calorie foods, now i look for the healthiest ingredient foods, and am super strict. Although right now i am in contest-diet-mode, i feel like even if I’m not, i will be way too restrictive. Finding balance is so hard!

  2. I am trying to lose weight without counting calories. It’s extremely difficult because that’s what I’m USED to doing. One thing I have to tell myself every day is that I need to move and exercise – and that because I do so, doesn’t mean I can drink a bottle of wine or treat myself with a rich dessert. Alcohol and desserts are my weaknesses, and I often want to “reward myself” with those items (daily!). I still have sweets a couple times throughout the week but I try to make them healthier, not artificial and satisfying.

  3. I guess what I’m saying is… exercise, exercise, exercise.

  4. I think you’ve asked the million dollar question – I myself wonder how far is too far? Am I getting “better” or am I getting “worse?” I have no idea! I just try to keep an eye by tracking, walking/reading/enjoying it, and never saying “no” to a night of drinking/drunk eating with my buddies – i’ll make it up in the gym. It’s a tough balance but I’m realizing it’s the way it is if I want to maintain a certain size. 😦

  5. i don’t have a great answer for you, but this post makes me somewhat sad! life shouldn’t be a struggle — and especially not a food-related one.

    i do think that you have to choose to eat in a way that you would be happy eating for the rest of your life. this means aiming for a healthy weight that is not a daily struggle to maintain — one that comes with regular exercise that you enjoy, relatively healthy foods but with some flexibility — is the right weight for you.

    bloggers like kath or tina from carrots ‘n’ cake are great models for this philosophy . . . you can definitely tell that they enjoy their food and exercise yet listen to their bodies. and they definitely both look fabulous.