Sunday Night Cooking

I tend to make a lot of random food for the week on Sunday nights. It’s never meals really, but more of just little snacks. One day I’ll graduate to making meals for the week, but I figure making snacks is better than making nothing and then having nothing to take to work.

Since we have an abundance of blueberries from our blueberry picking trip last weekend, I decided to make some blueberry muffins. I did a google search for “healthy blueberry muffins” and all of the recipes had applesauce in them which I didn’t have at home and didn’t feel like going to Kroger to get some. So, I made ones with oil. I ended up using this recipe.

IMG_1554

Frankly, they look better than they tasted. I did make some substitutions so that might be why. Here is the original recipe with my modifications in parentheses.

2 cups all-purpose flour (i used white whole wheat flour)
1/3 cup sugar (i used agave nectar. I didn’t measure it. Maybe 2 tbsps?)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup non-fat milk
2 tbsp canola oil (I sort of messed up here and thought it said 1/4 cup)
1 large egg, lightly beaten (I used 1/4 cup egg beaters)
1 cup blueberries
Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat a nonstick 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray or line with paper cups.
In a large bowl, stir flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. In a small bowl, combine milk, canola oil and egg.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add milk, oil and egg mixture. Stir until just moist. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full and bake 18-20 minutes until golden. Cool on wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

Meh, I’ll eat them, but they sort of have a biscuit/pancake taste for some reason.

After I made my muffins, I caught up on some blog reading and came across Sarah’s hummus recipe. Hummus is seriously my favorite food but I can never seem to replicate it at home very well. I’ve tried at least 5 different recipes but nothing compares to Sabra or Hannah brands. But, I’m not one to give up, so I figured I’d give her recipe a shot. I blended the lemon juice and tahini and then I realized that I didn’t have any chickpeas. Oopsie. I did have a can of canellini beans (I halved the recipe) so I just used those instead. The hummus was pretty good! I’m sure it would have been even better with chickepeas, but it was pretty damn good. Thanks Sarah!

IMG_1558

Thanks for everyone’s opinions on the dresses. I think we have a tie. But, I figured out what I am going to do. I only have two bridesmaids – my best friend from childhood is my matron of honor and my sister is the other. My MOH likes the first dress and my sister likes the second. At first I thought they could just get their preferred dress in the same color, but they don’t come in the same colors. But, upon perusing the J. Crew site some more, I just realized that you can get the first dress in another fabric in the same color as the second, so I think that’s what we will do.

7 responses to “Sunday Night Cooking

  1. look at the creamyness!!!!

  2. Very creamy!! Good recipe.

  3. YESSSS!!! I’ve been looking for a good hummus recipe! I’ll try this!!

  4. oooooh that hummus looks fab! Glad you figured out the dress situation!!

  5. Oh that looks goooood! I love blueberry muffins! And the hummus looks awesomely creamy and smooth, too!
    I know you’re gonna look HOT in that dress!

  6. I just made some blueberry muffins too, but all my blueberries sank to the bottom. Ha! I’ll have to give the recipe you posted a try. I’ve got 2 cartons of blueberries left.

  7. I like to make random things on Sunday for the week, too!