Personalized Homework?

I tend to bitch to my boot camp instructor about certain things. My number one complaint is that I’m frustrated that I can’t do push ups or railing pull ups. He’s always on me to do my homework and if I did it, I’d get stronger. So, guess what today’s homework was? 120 pushups and 120 pullups. Yuck!! I think he did that on purpose.

I got to the gym and started on the treadmill. I was actually next to a co-worker who runs pretty fast. It actually motivated me to run faster than normal. I did 2 miles. After my run, I did a modified version of the homework. I used the assisted pull up machine. I mean, really, I can’t do 120 pull ups! For the pushups, I did them on an incline which made it a bit easier than doing them on my knees. Does that count as doing the homework? I think it does.

I’ve been trying to really figure out what is holding me back from losing weight. This is what I’ve come up with.

1. Going out to eat. My friends and I go out to eat A LOT. I try to get what I think is healthy, but I don’t really know and I’m sure that I’m consuming way more calories than I realize.

2. Grazing. I know that to some extent, eating little snacks is good, but I feel like I’m always snacking. Especially after dinner.

So, what’s the solution? I’ve come up with some ideas. Jason and I have a date night once a week and that’s fine, but I want to stop going out to eat on other nights because we’re too lazy to cook. On the weekends, when my friends and I go out for drinks, we almost always eat too. Last Saturday, I told my friend Emily that I would meet her out for a drink but I was eating dinner at home. I want to do that more. It’s not like I’m going to feel deprived because I’m not eating bar food!

The grazing thing is harder to control. I am going to try very hard to eat dinner, eat something sweet if I need after and close the kitchen!!!

6 responses to “Personalized Homework?

  1. Ha, I just wrote a post about how I think I might eat too much and it affects my workouts (except for today – I didn’t eat enough). I think 120 push-ups is crazy. No one would do that. Could you do it in 20-30 increments throughout the day or does he say it has to be all at once?

  2. That TOTALLY counts – I agree – 120 pull ups is luda. I’m pretty big on eating at home and going out for drinks – saves calories and $! (and my tummy usually feels better).

  3. homecookedem

    It is very hard for me to close the kitchen after dinner too. But, believe it or not, I’ve come a looooong way from how I used to be. It actually was worse when I was 30 pounds less. But it was not a good habit regardless since I had little energy during the day. Do you think maybe eating a bigger dinner would help? I think that’s what has been and still sometimes is my problem…

  4. Theres no reason why you can’t eat out with friends, but if you do, the best thing you can stick with is a GRILLED DRY piece of lean protein and lots of DRY veggies (no butter/oil). or salads. otherwise, don’t bother with anything else if you don’t know the calorie count.

    definately eliminate the during the week drinking!!! stick to diet coke or avoid going out during the week – you’ll save money too!

    when do you workout? I find that if I front load my calories and eeat a big breakfast (most impt meal of the day!) that I’m less likely to snack so much the rest of the day

  5. I think the solution to eating out is a great one! You’ll save a ton of money too which is always a plus!!

  6. um….120 pushups – in a row?!! geesh…I just do 2 sets of 20 and think I’m hardcore. Not so much. 🙂

    I’m trying SO hard to save money, so not eating out is always a quick and easy way to do it for me. I love going out to eat, but I’m a member of the “Clean Plate Club” for sure and always, always have to finish my (very large) meals. I think your solution sounds great, though, since you’ll still get social time and drinks (my favorite part, anyway)!