All the cool kids are doing it

I’m definitely influenced to an extent by things I read on other people’s blogs. There are definite trends that go around the blogosphere (Green Monsters and Banana Soft Serve for example). I figure that if everyone raves about certain recipes, they must be on to something. And so I test the waters. Maybe I like it, maybe I don’t, but I definitely try these food “trends.”

I swear, I have a point to this. For a while now, I’ve been seeing a lot of juice. At first I didn’t really think much of it, but then I saw Crazy Sexy Cancer and became very interested in green juices. I’d been coveting this juicer for a while and Jason bought it for me last week! It delivers tomorrow. In anticipation, I went to Costco after work and bought mass quantities of produce. I got a little carried away. Although the broccoli isn’t intended to be juiced.

IMG_1560

I hope I like this. I guess the principle behind juicing is, especially with leafy greens, that since you aren’t getting the fiber from, say, spinach, you are able to eat/drink more of it and get more of the nutrients. Or somethin’ like that.

So, in addition to all of the push ups that I did last night (which btw, I did in increments of 20), today’s boot camp was very pushup-centric! By the end of the class, my pushup turned into me flopping onto my stomach and trying to myself back up. My chest/arms/shoulders are going to be sore tomorrow. We’d done this particular workout before; I have no idea why today was so hard. Actually, what am I talking about? It was hard because of the pushups that I did last night.

I’m not really talking about the details here, but my emotions about the wedding are all over the place. Not about actually getting married, but wedding planning. My parents are divorced, my dad is remarried and it’s just hard to get through this without everyone clashing, myself included. I’m not able to do some of it because I’m out of state. It’s just exhausting sometimes.

7 responses to “All the cool kids are doing it

  1. homecookedem

    Have fun juicing! I would try out every single trend out there if someone would come over and make it all for me… as much as I like looking at them, I don’t try many of them. GM’s look interesting, but not enough for me to try…

    Sorry wedding planning is so stressful for you. I’m totally NOT recommending this, but when I was planning mine a year ago, I actually went to the doctor because I was having physical symptoms from anxiety (heart palpitations, panic attacks…) and he subscribed me a temporary medication and it made all the difference. Not saying you need that at all, but my point is that everyone gets stressed out during wedding planning. Make sure you’re asking people for help. It’s near impossible to do it all yourself! Hang in there, it’s all worth it!! 🙂

  2. Keep us updated! I found Crazy Sexy Cancer so enthralling (was it Oprah where I first saw it? I can’t remember) – an interesting, positive take on crappy situation!

  3. I’m anxious to see how you like the juicing!! I LOVE green monsters, so I’m very curious about juices.

    Sorry you’re so stressed about the wedding. It makes me so nervous to get married! Everyone just has their own opinions, and the last thing they should do is stress YOU out.

  4. homecookedem

    Ok, so I take back what I said about trying out trends on food blogs. You’ll see what I mean when I post what I had for breakfast this morning… haha, I take it back! 😉

    Hope you’re having a great day!!!

  5. Pingback: Miz Trendy « homecookedem’s Blog

  6. have fun juicing!! I haven’t done it myself either. Can’t wait to see how you like it.

  7. hey. sorry you are feeling stressed out about the wedding. if there is anything i can do to help (even just listening!), let me know. i can totally empathize with all of it.

    hope you are enjoying the juicing. 🙂