Music and a cookbook of the month

Last night, I went to Eddie’s Attic with three of my friends to see Pat McGee. Eddie’s Attic is one of those places that I just don’t get to enough and every time I go, I think I should go more often.

They have three rooms – a listening room where the musicians play, a little room with a few pool tables and an outside patio bar.

This is the listening room:
IMG_1584

As you can see, it’s pretty small and intimate. The best thing about Eddie’s Attic is that before every show, they tell you to be quiet. It’s a place to actually listen to performers, not to get drunk and rowdy. The acoustics in the room are great. It’s mostly acoustic performers; Pat McGee played with one other person and for a few songs, a third joined him on stage.

IMG_1592

It was a good show. I wouldn’t say it was phenomenal, but it was good and a nice way to spend a Friday night. As I always think when I leave this place, I need to go back more often!

I had a few beers last night, so when my friend Maya asked if I wanted to meet up for a drink tonight, I suggested frozen yogurt instead. I am obsessed with Yoforia and, fortunately, it’s like a mile down the road. We’re meeting there at nine.

I have a new idea that I saw on someone else’s blog. Okay, I guess it’s not a new idea then, but you know what I mean. And sorry, mystery blogger if I stole your idea; feel free to claim it if you happen to read this. As I’ve said before, I have a lot of cookbooks in my house. At least ten or more. Plus, I have recipes saved to my work computer (we get a lot of magazines at work and sometimes I copy the recipes into a word file), my laptop and my desktop. Not to mention a bunch that are saved on All Recipes. Sometimes the sheer volume of recipes just completely overwhelms me and I either end up making something that I’ve made before, or just throwing together a bunch of stuff and hoping for the best.

So, here’s what I’m going to do. Each month, I am only going to make recipes from a certain cookbook (or from my computer stash.) Unfortunately, due to copyright laws, I won’t be able to post a lot of the recipes, but I’d be happy to email them to you if you ask. (Is that legal? We’ll pretend it is.)

So, for the month of August, I am going to be cooking from Cooking Light Fresh Food Fast. This cookbook has already gotten more use than most of the others, so I am excited to try more from it.

6 responses to “Music and a cookbook of the month

  1. That place looks fun. I wish there was something like that around here!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    It sounds kind of like that movie Julie & Julia. Sounds like a fun idea to me!

  3. That sounds like a great idea! I can’t wait to read more!

  4. homecookedem

    Love that idea. I’m excited to see what dishes you make!!

    I’ve been to Eddie’s Attic once, I think… isn’t it in downtown Decatur? Andrew and I went there to see Ari Hest a few years ago.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  5. is that my idea? i’m not sure i’ve written about doing this, but i definitely enjoy doing this and have done it in the past! even before i switched to my MARTHA quest i used to switch off every month or so (cooking light, other cookbooks). i’m actually looking forward to finishing with martha so i can do this again!

  6. and if you did get that idea from me, i’m happy to have inspired 🙂 !