Recipe for Disaster

For my first recipe out of my cookbook of the month, I chose a chicken-vegetable soup. I had just received a package from Foodbuzz with four Emerils products, and one was a chicken stock.

IMG_1593

Things started out badly when I could not find a big pot to cook the soup in. I have made soup a million times and I know we have a large soup pot but I could not find it. (Jason, do you know where it is?) So I had to stop the dishwasher and take out a medium size pot.

I started cooking and realized something. I was using chicken STOCK not chicken BROTH. Oops. I tried to put in extra spices to compensate. I kind of strayed from the recipe and used some veggies that I had on hand. I actually had to omit some of the things they called for because my pot wasn’t big enough!

IMG_1595

It was okay. It would have been much more flavorful had I used broth instead of stock. Oh well. You win some, you lose some. Maybe it’ll taste better tomorrow. It made 6 servings so there are plenty of leftovers.

I don’t think I would make this again though. I’m not entirely comfortable eating chicken. If you are new to my blog, I was a pescatarian for about 4 years. I reintroduced chicken about 2-3 months ago and I’m not sure if it’s going to stay in rotation. I couldn’t exactly think of a reason why I wasn’t eating it, so I decided to, but it still sort of grosses me out even though it tastes good, if that makes any sense!

I went to the mall today. Someone who shall remain nameless but who’s name rhymes with Purphy ate like 3 pairs of my underwear! My favorite ones too. So I was on a mission to get more. I went to NY&CO and Marshalls and neither had the style that I like. (TMI maybe, but I can only wear a g-string type thong under jeans. Anything else feels like too much material.) I tried on some other stuff in random stores but I didn’t really find anything. I did find, however, that Ann Taylor Loft’s sizes run so ridiculously big. So instead, I bought Jason a pair of shoes and got my eyebrows waxed.

Blah, Sunday night. A few of my friends were going to a Braves game and I got invited, but I don’t really like to do anything on Sunday nights. I like to have a final relaxation before the weekend ends.

Comments are closed.