I don’t know what was wrong with me last night. I think that movie really depressed me. Of course, when I get depressed about anything, I tend to manifest it into being upset about body image issues.

I have declared my pity party over now. I went to boot camp this morning even though I didn’t want to. It was fine. I think I actually am getting better at the railing pull ups. I used to only be able to do 3-4 and now I can do 7-8. Mike also told me that I was one of the stronger runners in the past couple of months. I’m not looking for instantaneous results; I know that’s not going to happen, but I’d just like to see some sort of change with my body.

But you know what? Even if my body stays the same, going to boot camp 3 days a week, running 2 more days and eating healthy is good for me on the inside. I tend to look at what’s on the outside, but forget that I am doing myself some good even if I don’t have a rock hard body.

9 responses to “

  1. good job for going to boot camp even though you didn’t want too! Glad to hear that your feeling the results.

  2. Nice job at boot camp! And the pull ups 🙂

  3. You are exactly right…I think we are all drilled to exercise just for the vanity side of it (even though I know most do it to stay healthy, I think vanity still plays a large part), and when we don’t “see” results, it’s discouraging. But you ARE doing something great for your body. AND most women couldn’t even do one pull up! (myself included) 🙂

  4. angieinatlanta

    I have definitely felt the way you do before – like, hey, I’m busting my ass, why isn’t my ass getting tighter?

    But I totally agree with what you said. Even if I don’t have a six pack, I’m doing something GREAT for my body every time I step into the gym, every time I choose a healthy option, etc.

    BTW, what boot camp do you go to? I’m researching them and trying to find one that fits into my schedule…not stalking!

  5. I think we all need to think more like that 🙂

  6. homecookedem

    I’m glad that you’re realizing that you are doing so well because you are living a healthy and active lifestyle! But I know what you mean, because I struggle with those very same thoughts quite often. I can’t do a push up either. Couldn’t even do one when my body fat % was 18% back in the day. SO, maybe some people just can’t do them? lol I don’t know…

  7. I love your thinking. Good for you for recognizing all the benefits of accepting yourself and getting moving. You’re just awesome!

  8. It’s important to remember what exercise can do for us mentally and emotionally, not just physically.

  9. That’s a really good attitude to have!! It definitely sounds like you’re getting stronger!!