And the verdict is…

I still don’t like tempeh.

I actually had some in the house and decided to make a Pad Thai type meal with, well, packaged Pad Thai that was hiding in my cabinet.

IMG_1618

I sauteed some of my never-ending broccoli and mixed it with the tempeh. I made the noodles according to the package directions and mixed them together.

IMG_1622

As you can tell, I might have cooked the broccoli a wee bit too long. It was still pretty good, except for that damn tempeh. I’m trying to put my finger on what exactly I don’t like about it. I think it’s too salty. Maybe something happens in the fermentation process that makes it taste like that. I want to like because I like tofu and soy beans in general, but I just don’t. Although Heather did recommend a recipe the last time I was bitching about not liking tempeh. I might try that sometime.

This meal was pretty decent for a 10 minute throw together random stuff that I had in the fridge and cabinet meal. The noodle sauce was pretty flavorful, although they were sort of long and unwieldy. Only halfway through my dinner did it occur to me to get a knife. I’s a smart one, I tell ya.

Guess what starts on Monday? Half marathon training! My friend Joan, who I ran the last half with, and I have decided to do the Silver Comet Half-Marathon on Halloween. This was actually my first race (of any distance, I started out kinda big, huh?) back in 2005. That was a really fun experience because my father flew down from MD to run with me. I ended up beating him by one second! This race is pretty lax. The entire course is on a wooded trail and it’s completely flat. When I did it four years ago, they didn’t have timing chips, but that may have changed by now.

Since this is my fifth half-marathon, I decided that maybe it was time to stop using the novice training plan! The only real difference between it and the intermediate plan is that the intermediate has one day that focuses on speed work. I think. I’m not exactly sure if I can juggle this and boot camp. What do you think? I’m going to try and see how August goes and if it does become too much, I’ll just quit the boot camp for a while. I think it might be helpful though, at least in terms of strength.

Speaking of boot camp, today was hard. I did not want to get up in the worst way, but knew that if I didn’t, not only would I be wasting money, but I’d have to go to the gym after work. When I got there, Mike told me he had my favorite workout planned. I tried to think of which one I hated the most. The first thing we did was a 7 minute series of box jumps, situps and press ups. After that we ran to another area of the park and did tabata dips. As we ran to a hilly area, I realized what my “favorite” workout was. Running up and down a hill with decline pushups at the bottom. Basically you run up and down the hill ten times. At the bottom, you do push-ups, 10 for your first run, 9 for the next and so on. The catch is that on each alternating run, you have to do them declined on a bench. Bleh. I kinda thought I was going to pass out at the end.

There’s a new boot camp instructor. I guess he’s sort of in training to take over my particular class because Mike opened his own gym. A super nice guy but very much a cheerleader type. “Good job, Lee, you can do it, Lee, push yourself, Lee.” I mean, I like to hear that stuff every so often, but it was grating on my last nerve by the end of the class. STFU!

5 responses to “And the verdict is…

  1. Okay, all cheerleaders annoy the heck out of me, but I can imagine how worse it can be to be directly into your ear from a buff instructor’s body. Urgh.
    And abt tempeh…well, it isn’t for everyone. Some just like the exact gritty chewy texture.

  2. It sounds like you are getting a really good workout from bootcamp, but like anything the same thing gets boring all the time. Maybe the change of instructors will be good…if the new one learns not to be so annoying.

  3. homecookedem

    Personally, I don’t think I could do both boot camp and half marathon training, but it’s all up to you and how you’re feeling. Just curious… about how much $ is each boot camp session? Is it an hour long? I’m curious if it’s anything like boot camp classes at my gym… circuits?

  4. yay for the half marathon training starting! The boot camp workouts sound great, too.

    Sorry you don’t like tempeh. I’ve had it once in a sandwich that I liked, but that was in a restaurant so I’m not sure how I’d feel about it in my own kitchen!

    Re: Pizza Fusion- it’s good, but be prepared for overpriced pizza!

  5. i’ve never had the tempeh you used, but have had the light life brand {flax).

    we also make sure to cut it in thin strips and marinade it with something (soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, etc). that seems to help.

    i have more of an issue with tofu. hate it. texture AND taste…