Counting Calories

I’m still trying to determine what is in my way regarding weight loss. So, I decided to do the tedious thing – count calories. I only want to do it for a little while so I can get a sense of how much I’m actually eating. I have a sneaky suspicion that my portion sizes are way bigger than I’m account them to be. Sometimes I hear people say that they don’t want to count calories because they don’t want to become obsessive. That’s not my worry. It’s just a pain in the ass to figure out the nutritional stats of everything, especially food that’s unpackaged. I mean, am I eating a large apple? A medium apple? I don’t know! But, I’m going to try anyway.

Along with distorted portion size, I want to eliminate dining out all the freaking time and drinking like I’m still in college. I want to emphasis the “all the freaking time” and “like I’m still in college” parts as I don’t plan to stop going to restaurants entirely nor do I plan to stop drinking entirely.

I think these three things are really what’s holding me back. More the portion size and the eating out (which is really the same thing as portion size if you think about it) than the alcohol. I’ve actually cut back on drinking a lot in the past year or so. These wicked hangovers that last all day after a long night of partying can turn anyone into a teetotaler.

It’s the end of the day and I’ve had approximately 1550-1600 calories which is fine. I don’t usually post my lunches, but I made a really good and easy salad that I wanted to share. I was looking for a recipe that was similar to the Chickpea, cherry and provolone salad that I had at Leon’s last week. I didn’t come up with anything, but I did find this recipe for Chickpea, cherry tomato and feta salad.

IMG_1633

Chickpea, Cherry Tomato, and Feta Salad from Marthastewart.com

Ingredients

Serves 1
1/4 cup canned chickpeas (I used white kidney beans)
1/2 cup quartered cherry tomatoes
1/4 cup crumbled feta
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/8 teaspoon salt
Ground pepper
Directions

Rinse and drain chickpeas.
In a bowl, combine chickpeas with tomatoes, feta, lemon juice, olive oil, oregano, salt, and a pinch of pepper.

It was super easy to throw together and quite tasty. I wasn’t sure if it was going to be enough, so I added some imitation crab meat. For some reason, I love imitation crab meat.

Dinner was another recipe from my cookbook of the month. This was a portobello mushroom quesadilla. The original recipe called for pimentos, which I don’t like. I bought some black olives to substitute, but forgot about them when I was cooking. I served it with steamed broccoli which I still have. Note to self, do not buy humoungous bag of broccoli again. You will be eating broccoli at every meal to try to use it up. I guess that’s not exactly a bad thing, but it does make the house smelly.

IMG_1635

I had a little dessert of chocolate chips and dry cereal for dinner. Now comes the hard part, not snacking!

11 responses to “Counting Calories

  1. homecookedem

    Counting calories is a pain, but I guess structure is required for some people to lose weight. I thought I could do it w/o it, but no. Good luck and don’t worry about being exact on every little thing. It’s what you do consistently, not perfectly that’ll get you where you want to be. πŸ˜‰

  2. ack. Counting calories SUCKS. I personally hate it, esp since it prevents me from learning to eat intuitively. But it seems to work for other people. Just try not to get too obsessed over numbers…food is more than that, and so is health. but best of luck!!
    And the chickpea, tomato and feta salad looks GREAT! I love the addition of the feta!

  3. The counting calories thing has really helped me a lot. I was never for it, but I didn’t see the scale move at all even when I was working out lots. But doing it for one week (and realizing I wasn’t eating enough) helped me lose 1.5 pounds last week. I don’t know if it’ll keep happening but I like it the results right now.

  4. Counting calories can suck – for sure – but for me it’s definitely worth it. I know what you mean! I had to get a food scale – i just had NO idea! That recipe looks yum!! (both – i’ve never had mushroom quesodillas!)

  5. Ugh, yes….counting sucks. It’s actually a habit I wish I could break, but in the end, it truly does work. I have a hard time with estimating things, too…I TRY to overestimate (like I always assume most apples are 100 cals, though some are less I’m sure) to give me some wiggle room.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. πŸ™‚ It helps to see when other people have good success stories. Maybe I’ll become one, too! And yeah, I’ve met MANY creeps in bars, through friends….they can be ANYwhere.

    I LOVE feta and chickpeas. That recipe is right up my alley!

  6. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Even though counting calories really does stink, I should probably get back at it. It really helps me to be much more conscious of what I’m putting into my mouth.

  7. I can sure say calorie counting does suck, in my opinion, and it drives me crazy. However, having said that, it really is the only true way to tell you how much you’re consuming. And it does help to know that if you’re trying to lose weight. Good luck, sweetie πŸ™‚

  8. Counting calories works BEST for me. When I don’t count calories and stop tracking my measurements, I fall into the black hole of oh, I’m not eating THAT much – when actually, I am! I know others hate it, but calorie counting works for me. (speaking of, need to get back to doing that…) lol

  9. angieinatlanta

    Oh man, I have such a love/hate relationship with calorie counting!

    Part of me loves it because it helped me during my weight loss journey.

    Part of me hates it because it almost becomes a compulsion for me.

    But I do think it’s great to occasionally check in, just to make sure portion controls aren’t getting ridiculous.

    -angieinatlanta

  10. I started counting calories when I first started losing weight. Since I had never done it before, it really helped to open my eyes to what I was eating and how much I was eating/should be eating. But it can become a compulsion. I don’t count every calorie these days but it’s always in the back of my mind.

  11. holy wow, that salad looks GREAT!!! and calorie counting is a good thing to do for a bit so you can get a handle on how much your portions actually are. i like to be aware. i also use the fist/palm method.. as in the portion should roughly be the size of my fist or my open palm. i dont know why i never knew about your blog before but you are now safely on my reader!! xoxo