More Blueberry Muffins

We still have blueberries in the freezer from our trip to South Carolina a few weeks ago. Jason requested blueberry muffins again. I didn’t really like the recipe that I used last time, so I found another one that I had all of the ingredients on hand as I was already in my pajamas and didn’t feel like going to the grocery store.

IMG_1643

This recipe was MUCH better than last time. I found it here.

Healthy Blueberry and Banana Muffins

12 muffins (change servings and units)

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I just used all white wheat flour)
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup brown sugar or granulated sugar (I used brown)
1/4 cup oat bran or wheat bran or oatmeal (I used oats)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup mashed ripe banana (2 bananas)
1/2 cup milk or buttermilk or unflavored soymilk (I used mostly unsweetened vanilla almond milk with a teeny bit of skim to make 1/2 cup)
1 large egg (I used 3 tbsp egg whites)
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries or frozen blueberries, unthawed (6 to 7 ounces)

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 400°F Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.
2. Combine flour, sugar, oat bran, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl; whisk to blend.
3. Place mashed bananas in large bowl. Stir in milk, egg, oil, vanilla and lemon juice. Mix in dry ingredients, then blueberries.
4. Divide batter among muffin papers. Bake muffins until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Turn muffins out onto rack and cool 10 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

I only had a bite of Jason’s, but I’m looking forward to having one tomorrow for breakfast.

I’m not much of a baker. I have this little habit of substituting ingredients. I really thought that I didn’t here, but as you can see, I made substitutions with pretty much everything. I guess I try to healthify everything. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. In this case, it worked out great.

4 responses to “More Blueberry Muffins

  1. Those look VERY good but alas, blueberries are my only food allergen. This never bothered me before, but lately they’re everywhere – in people’s breakfasts, salads, etc. Grrr. 🙂 So glad they turned out great!

  2. Blueberry muffins and lemon poppyseed muffins – life doesn’t get better! 🙂

  3. angieinatlanta

    Those muffins look DELISH!

    P.S. What’d you think of last night’s NYC Prep?

  4. homecookedem

    Those looks so good!! I used to bake a LOT! I made muffins, baked oatmeal, and cookies all the time… not sure why I stopped…