Date Night: Flip and Trivia

Jason’s schedule has changed so our date night has moved to Wednesdays. This is fine with me because I don’t have boot camp on Thursday mornings so I can “sleep in”. In quotation marks since I have to get up at 7:45.

When I heard about Richard Blais’ (from Top Chef) new restaurant Flip a few months ago, I didn’t give it much thought since it was a burger place and I don’t eat red meat. But after several recommendations from friends, I looked it up online and found out that they did have several non-traditional burgers.

IMG_1645

I used to work in the west side of town several years ago and there was NOTHING there! Now, it’s one of Atlanta’s up and coming areas and a ton of restaurants have moved in, including Flip. It was a pretty casual restaurant. The inside had communal tables and the patio had normal ones. We opted for the patio.

I was torn between the turkey burger, the wild mushroom burger, the shrimp po boyger and the ahi tuna burger. I decided to go with the turkey. Instead of a bun, I had it in a lettuce wrap. I was pleasantly surprised to see the lettuce wrap option written on the menu. I had a side salad. I asked for the dressing on the side, but the server forgot.

IMG_1646

IMG_1647

Jason had the flip burger with vodka-battered onion rings.

IMG_1649

I really enjoyed my burger. It was tender and juicy and the portion size was right. The portions at this restaurant are definitely smaller than a typical place. They are probably what a normal slzed portion should look like. Afterwards, we weren’t stuffed. It’s almost a weird feeling to leave a restaurant and not be!

Since it was Jason’s night off, he wanted to stay out. We looked up some bars with trivia and settled on the Brewhouse Cafe. When we got there, we saw that the menu offered a drink called a Dog Bowl in three strengths – chihuahua, golden retirever and pit bull. Being that there was a Golden Retriever drink and we are somewhat obsessed with our golden retriever, we had to get it. I don’t think I was prepared for exactly how large it was!

IMG_1652

IMG_1654
(I swear my forehead isn’t normally that large!)

It was very sweet. I’m not sure how much of this I actually drank; maybe 1/3? I estimated this entire bowl to be about 900 calories! So I’m guessing my portion was around 300.

We didn’t do very well at trivia. It’s hard when you are only in a group of two people. At around 10:30, I started to get very tired and wanted to go home. Jason wanted to finish the game, so I managed to stick it out until 11.

When I got home, I went straight to the fridge. I definitely get the drinking munchies and this was no exception. I was telling myself that I needed to just go straight to bed, but of course, I didn’t. Yesterday was not a low calorie day, by any means. I had somewhere around 2300-2400. I am not entirely sure. For those of you that count calories, does a high day like this impede your progress? My other days so far have mostly been around 1600-1700 plus I exercise a lot. What I mean to say, rather than does a high-calorie day impede your progress, is how many splurge days can I get away with and still lose weight? I know it’s an individualized thing, but I am just curious to see what other’s have experienced.

10 responses to “Date Night: Flip and Trivia

  1. wow that restaurant looks so good, not your average every day burger joint! i love it. and anything with sprouts gets huge points with me. the serving sizes sound great, i hate it when they are MONDO and you get way too much food and feel like you have to eat what you paid for. i laughed so hard at the dog names for the drink! that is so clever. in my experience i have one free day a week where i eat as many calories as i want. i managed to lose 9% body fat in 12 weeks on this system, but the other 6 days a week were spent eating 100% clean, no cheats at all and working out (3 days of 20 min cardio and 3 days of 45 min weights)~i took in probably 1600 calories on the clean eating days. hope you are having a great day! xo

  2. I heard that restaurant was good – now i’m in – your pics look awesome!! And they don’t affect me – I have 2 high days a week easy (around 2,300 or 2,400 for alcohol!). I may gain a pound but it’s gone by Wednesday!! 🙂

  3. homecookedem

    I would go to that place just for the nutella and burnt marshmallow milkshake! YUM!

    I can’t drink alcohol without getting the munchies either… I have learned that I can lose with one splurge day a week, but like you said, it’s individual, so you may be able to get by with 2?

  4. I had to look up Flip after I saw the nutella and burnt marshmallow milkshake comment. I don’t know if I would go for the fancy burgers, but that sounds good. (The krispy kreme one sounds fishy, but I know one of my friends would like it)

  5. foie gras milkshake? woah, man. that’s a little too intense for me.

    my intake definitely varies a lot from day to day, and weekends i definitely eat more! it seems to all even out.

  6. angieinatlanta

    I LOVE FLIP!

    Oh my gosh, the Krispy Kreme Milkshake is so intense but so delish!

    I typically have one or two higher calorie days per week, i.e. the weekend, but it doesn’t do much to my weight. I’m not trying to lose weight and I work out usually 5 days a week so everything balances out and I stay pretty steady.

  7. Hmm…1600-1700 kcal with lots of exercise doesn’t seem a lot. I think you could get away with a couple of indulgence days a week.
    And man, those burgers look gooood! I would totally get the smoked salmon one!

  8. I definitely think higher cal days are okay! Especially with as active as you are, and your calorie intake on most days of the week.

    Surprisingly, when I lost weight I had one (sometimes two) “higher” cal days – around 2,200- – 2,500. And I still lost the weight…I actually think it helped to change up my cal intake. Maybe it boosted my metabolism?

  9. omg im totally loving the “drink in a bowl” – but im also very easily amused 🙂

    i have one SIP of alcohol – and i get the drunk munchies 🙂

  10. That drink looks very fun! Like a marginally less sketchy version of a scorpion bowl! :]