Your Chia Pet Arrived

That was an email that I got from Jason on Friday. It wasn’t a chia pet, it was a jar of Greens Plus chia seeds. Diane from Greens Plus emailed me and asked if I’d like to try them. I’d been on the lookout for chia seeds, but had trouble finding them at an affordable price. So, of course, I said yes!

The following information is taken from the Greens Plus website.

Facts about Chia seeds:
Chia seeds have thousands of years of safe historical human consumption
GREENS+ Omega3 Chia™ is the only ISO 9000 Certified (International Organization for Quality and standards) chia seeds
Chia seeds enhance energy levels and extend endurance
Chia seeds are 100% cholesterol free, and trans fat free
Omega3 Chia is NOT genetically modified (GMO)
Chia seeds contain significant amounts or Quercetin antioxidants that aid in reducing inflammation
Omega3 Chia is one of the highest overall antioxidant containing foods (ORAC i680 pr 22g) – more than blueberries and prunes
Omega3 Chia is gluten free, and can be eaten by people suffering from celiac disease.
Chia seeds aid in increasing nutrient absorption and utilization
Omega3 Chia is a complete, whole and natural food, not a supplement.
Omega3 Chia is a perfect digestive aid, creating better assimilation of food and excess stomach acids
Omega3 Chia is a dieters dream, fat replacement, food extender and creates a full satiated feeling.
Chia seeds encourage healthy and gentle bowel elimination
Omega3 Chia is certified Kosher
Chia seeds prevent dehydration and aids in Electrolyte Balance

I decided to try a smoothie. I wanted to use spianch but stupid Kroger didn’t have any. I hate the Kroger that’s next door to my house. They are always out of things. It’s so frustrating. Oops, tangent, sorry. Anyway, I mixed a scoop of chia seeds with a scoop of water and put it in the fridge for a little while. When I took it out, it had taken on a gel consistency. It’s not very pretty, but this is what it looked like.

IMG_1658

I mixed the chia gel with 1 cup unsweetned vanilla almond milk, 1 medium banana, 1/2 cup of blueberries and a few ice cubes. I’ll have to say, not adding the spinach made it a much more appealing color.

IMG_1660

It was very tasty and filling. The chia seeds gave it a slight nutty taste, but nothing very noticeable. The smoothie was very thick. So far, I am enjoying my seeds. Thanks Diane.

So, here’s the best part. Do you want some chia seeds? If so, all you have to do is email Diane at diane@greensplus.com and she will send you a sample. I’m looking forward to more chia in my life.

6 responses to “Your Chia Pet Arrived

  1. homecookedem

    Awesome!! Thanks for sharing the chia love!! 🙂 I just emailed her and can’t wait to try them out for myself!

    That’s so cool you got to hear Paul McCartney! Boo for getting caught in the rain though…….

  2. oh wow! I’ve never even heard of this!! You are so good about trying new things.

  3. Speaking of chia pet’s, those gross black seeds in chia pets kits chia seeds? Never made that connection, lol.

  4. A little note on your tangent about Kroger….I completely agree!!! When I went on Saturday they were out of STRAWBERRIES, SPINACH and ROMAINE LETTUCE. That was worse then when Publix was out of bananas a few weeks ago. This was the middle of the afternoon!

  5. The seeds look so cool! I’ve been wanting to try chia (the seeds- not the pet!).

  6. angieinatlanta

    Oooh, I’ve been wanting to try chia seeds! Thanks for the info!