Tempo run

Today’s workout was a 30 minute tempo run. I wasn’t sure if the 30 minutes was the tempo part, or the entire run. I just took it to mean the entire run. I started out with three minutes of walking, which I always do. I then ran at 5.7mph until I got to ten minutes. At ten, I ran at 6.0 until minute 25. Then I went back down to 5.7 mph for two minutes, and finally 5.5 for the final two. It wasn’t exactly a fun run. I was definitely huffing and puffing a bit, especially during the tempo part, but I knew that I could do it and I would be happy with myself for doing so. Which I was.

After the gym, I was starving. I had half a banana bread Larabar (btw, ATL people, have you found the new flavors yet? I cannot find them. I even emailed Larabar who didn’t respond.) and took Murphy for a 20 minute walk. After we got home, I realized that we didn’t really have any food in the house. This meant a trip to [shitty] Kroger. They actually had spinach today, although not organic which I prefer. All the health magazines always say don’t go grocery shopping when you’re hungry, which I definitely did tonight. I guess they’re right becasuse you know what I did, I dug into these Blue Diamond Almond rice crackers on the way home. Oh well. My tummy was growling. I managed to put the crackers away and make myself an appetizer of celery and salsa. I bought hot salsa by accident. Woowee, it was spicy.

I was craving protein, I guess and chicken sounded appealing. I decided to make another recipe from my Cooking Light cookbook – chicken with green chile and cheese. You can pretty much look at the picture and figure out the recipe. I highly recommend this cookbook though. It has a ton of easy recipes and they all have been very tasty.

IMG_1664

Guess what I’m doing this weekend? If you guessed flying up to DC and going wedding dress shopping, you’d be right!

9 responses to “Tempo run

  1. Yummy! That chicken looked scrumptious. You’re going wedding dress shopping? That’s going to be so much fun! Any particular style you like?

  2. homecookedem

    I haven’t found the new flavors either AND I too emailed Larabar and NO response either! WTH?!

  3. oooh your recipe looks fab!! DC wedding dress shopping?! Awesome! That run sounds pretty awesome, too.

  4. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Wedding dress shopping sounds exciting! Good luck!!

  5. I looked everywhere in Atlanta (WF, health stores) and couldn’t find them… I finally found them at the WF in Nashville! My bf lives there so no, I didn’t drive all the way there just for Larabars. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. That chicken looks delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I can’t find the new flavors, either….UGH. I REALLY just want the PB&J. I am going to buy a frickin’ box when I see them for the first time.

    That is exciting about dress shopping!! Do you have an idea of what you want?

  8. have fun wedding dress shopping ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. wow, i am jealous of your weekend plans. i cant find the new LB flavors but i havent tried all the flavors they have so it is like each one i try is new! i don’t eat them often. your chicken looks bomb!