Busy Weekend

I have a busy weekend ahead of me. I figured I needed to nourish myself and what better way then with some faux-chos. Okay, fine, this wasn’t exactly the same as nachos, but they still tasted pretty good.

Lee’s Faux-chos
1 whole wheat pita bread
cooking spray
Emeril’s Essense
1/2 avocado, diced
1/2 cup fat free refried beans
1/4 cup reduced fat mexican cheese
salsa to taste

1. Preheat oven to 400. Cut pita in half and then into 8 pieces. Spray with cooking spray and sprinkle with Emeril’s Essense.

2. Cook for about 5-6 minutes until pita starts to harden, but doesn’t completely become chip-like. Spread with refried beans and top with cheese and avocados. Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes.

I’m kind of embarrassed that I’m actually playing this off as an actual recipe. It’s more of a What can I throw together? dinner.

Like I said before, I’m going to DC this weekend to look for wedding dresses. I should clarify, that I use DC and MD pretty much interchangeably and that might be confusing. My parents live in suburban MD but it’s very close to the DC border. I get in tomorrow night around nine. My mom and I have two appointments at bridal salons tomorrow. The first is where one of my cousin’s got her dress for her wedding several years ago. The second is a higher-end shop that’s closing and having a big sale.

After shopping, I think the plan is to recharge ourselves with some Maryland crabs! I might have lived in Georgia for the past seven years, but I am still a MD girl at heart and I love blue crabs with lots of Old Bay. My mom lives walking distance to Bethesda Crab House and it’s almost a tradition to go there once a year when I come home to visit.

Then, on Sunday, I’m having lunch with my dad’s side of the family including my cousin Jake, who I have never met. He’s my first cousin’s son and he’s about 8-9 months old. What is that to me? My second cousin? My first cousin once removed? Anyway, I’m excited to meet him.

So, yeah, busy weekend. And it’s 11 pm and you think I’ve packed yet? I should probably get on that, huh?

7 responses to “Busy Weekend

  1. Um, you’re kidding right? It’s an awesome recipe! Clever name, too! And I never thought to “put” nachos on pitas – duh – love it! Have an awesome weekend – hope you got your packing done quick!

  2. angieinatlanta

    Those “nachos” look gooood!

    Good luck on your dress shopping adventure!

  3. which stores are you going to? I got my dress at I Do I Do in Gaithersburg, MD – its a consignment shop but also has new dresses – I got a new dress 🙂 my gf also got her dress & BM dresses there too. my BM dresses were from there too – one stop shopping!!!!!

    goodluck!

  4. Enjoy your weekend! I wish we could get together, if you had time – but my parents are in town this weekend.

  5. Have so much fun this weekend!! I loved going dress shopping with my sisters. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

  6. love the fauxchos – you are so smart 🙂

  7. Have fun! Enjoy the shopping!