Quick Sickness

It turned into Fall like instantly here. The calendar read September First and boom, it was 15 degrees cooler out. There are two things that I really don’t like – change and cold weather (and yes, I went to college in Vermont, I know, I know.) So, when the cold weather is the change, I’m not a happy camper.

On Tuesday night, a few friends and I went to see Depeche Mode. I had on a 3 quarter length sleeved shirt and was freezing my ass off. Fortunately, my generous and warm blooded boyfriend lent me the shirt off his back to wear so I wasn’t miserable the entire time.

IMG_1821

The concert was good, although I didn’t have nearly as fun of a time as when we saw the Flaming Lips last week. Not sure why. They did play my song as their first encore which was nice.

IMG_1832

After the show, I felt very, very tired. Not unusual for me since it was about 11:15 by the time we got to our car. I went straight to bed afterwards. I woke up an hour or so later, teeth chattering. I figured I had just been chilled from being outside and put a sweatshirt on and went back to sleep. Mind you, I live in Georgia so my definition of “cold” might be a little different than someone in say, Minnesota.

When I woke up yesterday morning, I just felt off. I felt exhausted and somewhat foggy-headed. I could not figure it out. I had gotten around 7.5 hours of sleep. I only drank about 2 beers at the show so it wasn’t a hangover. After lunch, I really started to feel bad. And then it happened. I got nauseous and ran to the bathroom and threw up! I do not throw up. Like ever. I can tell you that the last time I threw up was in 2007 when I had heat exhaustion and before that, it must have been years. I bailed on a run with a friend and was in bed with the lights out by 8:30.

When I woke up this morning. I felt okay. My stomach felt a little iffy but not bad. I ate some chia oats for breakfast and went to work. I met two friends for lunch at Jason’s Deli. I was sort of worried about going, but wanted to get out of the office so I went. After lunch, I felt fine. What’s up with that? 24 hour bug? Ate something weird, maybe?

Since I was feeling completely better less than 24 hours after I was convinced that I had swine flu, I decided to go for the run that I’d skipped yesterday. This was actually the first time that I deemed it cool enough to run outside in several months. I did a nice 3.5 mile jog.

8 responses to “Quick Sickness

  1. angieinatlanta

    Seriously, the GA weather lately has been BANANAS! What’s the deal?

    I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  2. ‘boyfriend’ –> ‘fiance’ 🙂

  3. Boy shirts always save the day! 🙂 I love that air is getting cool. Since I’ve gained weight, I’m not nearly as cold as I was 20 pounds ago. I used to wear sweats in the summer! That’s the ONLY thing I don’t miss about being smaller!!

    Glad you’re feeling better!!

  4. Hey there, thanks for stopping by my blog – good to see some other ATL bloggers! I went to the Flaming Lips concert last week too – it was great! And you are right – this weather is crazy! But I love it…

  5. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I’m glad it was just a QUICK sickness, and not the swine flu, or regular flu for that matter. I’m actually loving the cooler temps here.

  6. well i am glad it didnt last! the concert looked fun.

  7. Well, whatever it was, I’m glad you were only sick briefly! Being sick SUCKS. I’m glad I’m like you and hardly ever puke!

  8. I am glad it went as quick as it came, it sounded horrible.
    I am sure Depeche Mode puts on a great concert. They are definitely on my list of concerts to see.