5.75 mile run

I was going to take a picture of my new duds, but realized two things. 1. I don’t know how to use the self timer on my camera and 2. I don’t own a full length mirror. I need to work on those – especially point number two. What girl doesn’t own a full length mirror?

I’m very big on napping. I love to take a good 2-hour nap. I naturally wake up early on the weekends, around 7-8 if I’m lucky, but almost always get a nice nap in at some point. Today was no exception. I slept for about two hours. Afterwards, even though I wanted to be lazy, I put on my running clothes and got ready for my long run. I’ve decided to do a hybrid training plan using both Hal Higdon’s novice and intermediate plans. I was using the intermediate for a while, but felt like it was progressing in mileage too quickly. I’ve basically been using the intermediate for the weekly runs and the novice for the weekend. The intermediate dictated a 7 mile run, the novice a 5.

I sort of decided to do something in the middle and just see how I felt. I strapped on my Garmin for the first time in a while. I’ve been running at the gym all summer so I haven’t really used it much. I live about a mile from a really cute area that I love to run in. The problem is that the mile to get there is like all uphill. It’s never the best way to start out a run because I always feel so sluggish. I did a walk/run combo up the hill. After that, I began to run but started to feel very thirsty. I stopped at a CVS at mile 2.5. I made a mistake there and purchased a Propel instead of a water. I gulped it down way too fast and the sweetness made me feel kind of sick. I started walking a bit again to let my stomach calm down (and to burp!) and just kind of walk/ran for a while. I do an out and back route, so the last mile is always downhill which is nice! All in all, I did about 5.75 miles.

After I got home, it was nearly 8 pm and I was hungry. I threw together one of my favorite easy meals. Pita Pizza! Actually it was Flat Out Pizza. I love making these and they’re so easy.

IMG_1851

I used a light spinach flat out, Classico tomato sauce and part skim mozzarella. I topped it with sauteed peppers and onions, jalapenos and a half tomato from Jason’s parent’s garden. Oh and plenty of Frank’s which isn’t pictured. I could easily eat another but I’m supposed to go to a friend’s 30th birthday party which I’m sort of late for.

4 responses to “5.75 mile run

  1. Have a fun trip! What race are you training for?

  2. Hey Lee! Thanks for reading my blog and commenting. I ate a homemade pizza tonight too–so easy and delicious. I look forward to reading more from you. I enjoyed reading your very real ‘About’ page!

  3. Haha, I don’t have a full-length mirror either. It’s ok! I definitely know what you mean abt sports drinks. They make me sick, too. I don’t udnerstand how others can guzzle them up like that!

  4. Congrats on the run!! LOL I just recently figured out the self-timer on my camera. And I’ve had it since last winter.