Vacation Tips

Thanks for the vacation tips, everyone. They were helpful. Here’s the gist of what everyone said.

1. Eat fresh fruits/veggies and lean proteins. Don’t eat junk just because it’s available. Splurge on something that’s worth it, like sharing a dessert.
2. Don’t drink too much. If you drink, stick to lighter drinks and stay away from frozen mixed drinks.
3. Take advantage of the hotel gym.
4. Have fun!

I think I can do all of those things.

So, today is Jason’s 29th birthday. Apparently, September 6th is a popular birthday in the world of blogger’s significant others. It’s Shannon’s husband’s and Ashley’s boyfriend’s birthday. Not to mention, my friends Tim and Howard as well. Jason had to work today at 1:30 but we wanted to do brunch first to celebrate. The plan was to go to one of our favorite (and well hidden) brunch spots – The Treehouse but when we got there, it was closed for Labor Day weekend! We couldn’t really think of anywhere else to go that would be brunchy and we didn’t have a lot of time, so we ended up at our typical Sunday lunch spot, Lettuce Souprise You! We’re a bunch of senior citizens, I tell you.

The salad bar isn’t really that big but it gets the job done.
IMG_1854

IMG_1856

I am obsessed with this Hearty Vegetable Soup. It makes me sad when they don’t have it.
IMG_1857

It wasn’t exactly the birthday celebration that I wanted to give him, but hey, it still was good. After he left for work, I had an exciting day at the laundromat. I finally washed our comforter which hasn’t been washed in a disgustingly long time. Seriously, you don’t want to know how long. We have a stackable W/D and it doesn’t fit and spending an hour at the laundromat is not high on my list of fun things to do on the weekends. However, it was really dirty and needed to be done. So I bucked up and took it.

For dinner, I tried to clean out the fridge. I threw together some very random vegetables in the hopes that it would taste good. It didn’t really. I sauteed zucchini, a half tomato and this onion/pepper mix in cooking spray and seasoned it with Emeril’s Essence that Foodbuzz sent me last month. I made a sauce out of 1 tsp Mongolian Fire Oil, 3 tsp soy sauce and some minced garlic. Then I got the not-so bright idea to add some scrambled eggs. It wasn’t terrible, but I wouldn’t make this again. I did use up a bunch of produce so I guess the goal was accomplished.

IMG_1865

Well, back to doing endless loads of laundry (fortunately, this time in my house) for our trip

One response to “Vacation Tips

  1. Pingback: Las Vegas Vacationing Tips | Activities Las Vegas