Happy Labor Day

Happy Labor Day! I hope everyone is having a nice day off (if you have it off, poor Jason does not!) I had a huge list of things to accomplish today which included: buying camera batteries, finding Jason a bathing suit, running 4 miles, using up more produce that we have in the fridge, laundry and packing. Whew!

Jason only has one bathing suit and finding one this time of year proved to be a challenge. I went to Target, Old Navy and TJMaxx before finding one at Dick’s. The good thing was it was on sale for only $14. While I was at Old Navy, I figured that I’d try on some stuff just for the hell of it. I tried on some skinny jeans and guess what? They looked decent! I got the size 10, which are a little big in the waist but looked better in the thigh than the 8s did. I’m psyched! Of course, when I got the jeans, I had to mosey over to DSW (in the same shopping center) to see if I could find some cute heels to go with them. I didn’t really see any heels that I liked, but I saw an ocean of boots! I wanted to look so badly, but I made myself stay away. I feel like I’ve been spending a lot of money on clothes in the past week or so and didn’t want to tempt myself. Even though the jeans would tuck nicely into new boots.

My original intention for running was to run outside. It was pretty warm out though, so I decided to high tail it over to do the gym. The run was pretty good. I did 4 miles in 40:57. I really wanted to break 41 minutes. I mostly ran at 6 mph. That used to be my normal speed a few years ago but, for some reason, I got slower and for my last race, I trained at mostly 5.8 mph. I’m trying to get it back up to 6 again.

For dinner, I was inspired by something that Betsy made a few nights ago. Spaghetti squash with zucchini and tomato sauce. I just happened to have all the ingredients in my fridge, so this was a perfect meal to use them up. I baked a small spaghetti squash for about an hour at 375.

See Jay Robb’s bulging bicep in the background?
IMG_1870

For the sauce, I started out with one zucchini and 1 tomato. I seasoned them with Italian Seasoning and Emeril’s Essence and sauteed them in cooking spray. I let them cook for a while on low heat to let the tomatoes break down and thicken up. I added about a 1/4 cup of marinara sauce to make it more sauce like.

IMG_1869

And the final result, topped with mozzarella cheese.

IMG_1873

Now, the only thing I have left to do is pack for my trip. Considering our living room looks like this, I have lots of work to do!

IMG_1876

“See” ya in a week!

9 responses to “Happy Labor Day

  1. Enjoy your trip!

  2. Happy Labor Day!! Can’t wait to hear all about your trip in paradise!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. angieinatlanta

    Dinner looks yummy!

    Have fun on your trip; enjoy yourself and relax!!!

  4. I am desperately jealous – but can’t wait to hear about your trip! Have a WONderful time, and can’t wait to hear about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I know you’ll have so much fun and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  6. Old navy is one of my favorite places to shop. great deals all the time, if I could I’d buy the whole store out! have a safe trip, look forward to pics.

  7. YAY skinny jeans! i am proud of us for not being afraid of current fashions ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Yum on the pasta and YAY on the skinny jeans – woo! You were JUST saying you didn’t think they were for you and you found them! I’m with you – they’re worth it if only for tucking in boots – love! Have a great trip!!