Drunchies

Last night I went to a little festival with some friends. It was in the parking lot of a bar and had some bands and stuff. Some beers were consumed. After said beers, at about midnight, I felt the need to eat a bunch of hummus. Why do I do this? I hate the drunk munchies (aka drunchies). I had already had dinner several hours earlier. Granted, I had an appetizer as my dinner, but still. It’s hard because I work so hard to eat well and work out and then I cancel it out with beer and late night food. Now, I know hummus is much more healthy than a lot of food that people crave when they’ve been drinking, but the point is that I didn’t need it! I didn’t need the beer either.

Some of my friends are still big partiers and when I hang out with them, I tend to drink more than I normally would. It just seems like that’s all anyone wants to do on a weekend night – go to a bar. I know this sounds stupid, but what other things can my friends and I do? Go to the movies? I know I could go to the bars and not drink, but well, that’s just not going to happen. So it’s either I go out and drink and then feel extremely guilty about it or I stay home and am bored by myself. What about you guys? Do your friends still like to drink like they’re in college? (actually, maybe they are in college. I am what one might call an older blogger. Bleh.)

I feel fine today. Nothing bad happened besides eating a large portion of hummus in the middle of the night. I just am annoyed at myself. I feel like I’m over that phase in my life but since a lot of my friends aren’t, I still participate. If that makes any sense.

It’s another rainy day here in Atlanta. Not flood-like fortunately. Staying inside makes me want to bake sometimes and I thought this would be the perfect day to try out Angie’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. She said that they were muffin-like in texture so I decided to just go ahead and make them into muffins. Mine make 12 muffins, so the calorie count is a little bit higher than what she posted. I could figure it out, but math on a Saturday, nah.

IMG_2132

These babies were good. Sometimes when I make muffins, they taste a little too healthy. These were definitely decadent and dessert like. Great recipe, Angie!

Not much else going on in the casa de In My Tummy. I need to go to the gym at some point today. I stopped by the running store on my way home last night and treated myself to some new shoes. It’d been a while and I thought I could use them. I stuck with the same brand that I had last time – Brooks. These are just the later model.

IMG_2130

Tomorrow I’ll be able to test them out on a run. I’m supposed to do 7 miles. I am really hoping that it doesn’t rain. 7 miles on the treadmill is torture!

16 responses to “Drunchies

  1. angieinatlanta

    AH! I hate the DRUNCHIES! No, I really don’t hate them so much as I hate the morning after – bloated and guilty! Meh.

    My friends definitely still like to party but as I’m sure you can tell, I just don’t go out very much. I don’t drink very much and I don’t like being pressured into more. I’m at the point now where I prefer going out to a nice dinner with a small group or sipping wine at a tapas bar, which my friends aren’t into. It’s a bit awkward sometimes and a few of my friends did drop off the radar. But then again, if we only had drinking in common, then what kind of friendship was it? You know? I guess I didn’t really answer your questions but just rambled! Oh, well.

    Yay! I’m glad you tried to recipe and that it wasn’t too healthy-tasting! I kind of hate healthy tasting baked goods as well.

  2. Ha, I don’t think you are an “old blogger.” I guess I’m right up there with you too.

    My friends aren’t big drinkers, so I’m not stuck in the same situation. Usually we just go out to dinner, have cookouts or generally hang out in each other’s living room. Not exciting, but we enjoy each other’s company.

    Love the Brooks shoes. They are my favorite brand. 🙂

  3. Embarrassingly, we really don’t go out that often (typical OTP 😉 ). But when we do visit our ITP friends, drinking is always involved. I almost always get the drunchies too. The only solution is to just make yourself go to bed.

    I actually used to drink at home A LOT on the weekends. It was the only way I felt like I could relax and feel ok about “spluring” on things I wouldn’t normally eat. Does that make sense?? Not saying this applies to you, but that was why I gave in to the drunchies. But now I let myself eat those things in moderation and if I get snacky while drinking, I just make myself go straight to bed.

    Those muffins look great!! 🙂

  4. I hear ya on the drunchies. It’s really so hard to avoid. At least you were craving hummus though, I usually end up going to Dunkin Donuts which is really no fun to think about the next morning! Nice new shoes! I wore mine all day today just because they’re so pretty and new, I wasn’t even running 🙂

    • I’m usually pretty health conscious in my drunchie choices. Although I’ve been known to crave a pizza too.

      I wore my new shoes yesterday too. Unfortunately it rained while I was wearing them.

  5. Wow, that is too funny! I am over that phase in my life as well and my roommates definitely are not! I am in the same kinda “ok, Ill go drink because my friends are I guess” phase as you are. What I try to do when Im out with my still crazy friends is have one drink with them that they see me having. When they arent paying attention Ill go up to the bar and just order club soda with cran and a lime. My friends STILL think Im partying it up by drinking cran and vodka, but I am actually just hydrating myself. Club soda and cran is obviously very low cal so its not a big deal for trying to be healthy. Hope this helps, Im still working on it too!

  6. at least your drunchies was hummus!!

    lovely looking pumpkin chocolate chip cookies!

  7. ah when I drank i always used to binge WAY too much afterwards. I just stopped drinking though. Sure I’ll have a glass of wine every once and again but…I had to stop myself beause it was becoming every weekend sort of deal! Those pumpkin muffins look yummy. Yesterday I did some baking as well and made pumpkin spice chocolate chip cookies 🙂

  8. “drunchies” – LOVE IT! And yes,, i hate it too and yes, it could have been worse – hummus is a pretty good “drunchie” craving!

  9. haha, “I felt the need to eat a bunch of hummus” i hear you on that. sometimes hummus is a must, esp after drinking. i love the term drunchies. i had them the other night and i just said NO. i walked to my bed and went to sleep. it was hard to do but i was stoked. those muffins look real lovely!

  10. yes i laugh out loud i always always always want hummus when i am drunk!!