Office Gym and Okra

It took me nearly three years before I had this realization. My office building has a gym. Actually, I knew it had one, but I’d never really paid it much attention. It has a membership fee (albeit only $5 a month) and it’s small with old equipment. I’d always rationalized that it was stupid to pay for a second gym, when there is an LA Fitness right down the road that I already belong to. Only problem is by the time I get to LA fitness and change my clothes, I’ve already wasted 15 minutes of my hour lunch break. Basically I can only work out for a half an hour and always felt very rushed. I pretty much gave up on working out on my lunch break.

So I had the realization last week that I should pay the $5 a month and use the office building gym. I wouldn’t drop my LA Fitness membership, of course, but it would be something to do at lunch other than napping and I wouldn’t feel as rushed as I did at LA Fitness. So I went to the property management office and signed up.

And wouldn’t you know it? I forgot my shoes. Yes, again. So I worked out in my socks. I guess that’s a little known benefit of using a small office gym; no one is going to say anything about my shoeless feet. Actually no one was even in there. I did a 5 minute warm up on the elliptical and then:

2 sets of 15 deadlifts, 15 lb weight in each hand
2 sets of 15 shoulder presses, 10 lb weight in each hand
2 sets of 15 lat pull downs, 50 lbs
2 sets of 15 lunges (on each leg) , 10 lb weight in each hand
2 sets of 8 situps on an incline bench with an oblique twist at the top

For dinner tonight, I decided to try something that I hadn’t really had before – okra! Considering I’ve lived in Atlanta for seven years, it was about time. I seasoned it with a bit of olive oil and Emeril’s Essence (love this) and put it on a baking sheet. We cut a few pieces up and left most of them whole.

IMG_2137

With the okra, I made fish. I think this was some sort of Roughy. It was previously frozen and I’d defrosted overnight. I chopped up some cherry tomatoes.

IMG_2142

And washed some spinach.

IMG_2148

I seasoned the fish with some spice mix that we bought in Mexico.

IMG_2151

I cut up some parchment and put the fish on top of the spinach and tomatoes. I baked it for about 15 minutes at 450 degrees.

IMG_2149

And the finished result.
IMG_2152

I liked the okra but we both agreed that the cut up pieces were much better than the whole ones. They got crispier.

I’m off to relax.

13 responses to “Office Gym and Okra

  1. I think I’d really like that okra. I don’t think I’ve ever had it except for in veggie soup. If I do it, I’ll cut it up! What a healthy dinner you had tonight!!

  2. I have never had okra…what does it taste like?

  3. Your food looks extra tasty!

    Have you tried putting a post-it note on the door or on your steering wheels that says “shoes” or something similar to help you remember? I got so cranky after forgetting my bra last week – I can’t even imagine what I would do if I forgot my shoes.

  4. Great dinner, especially with Okra, I haven’t had fish in weeks now.

  5. i have never been a fan of okra that i’ve made myself but i do like when other people make it for me – does roasting it get rid of the slime?!

  6. I definitely need to try okra.

  7. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Okra scares me for some reason. I think it’s the slime. That fish looks delicious. I haven’t had fish in far too long.

  8. i have yet to find and try okra! the fish looks epic.

  9. I’m from Mexico and I love tajin! We usually put tajin over fruits and vegetables (usually oranges, mangos, watermelon, apples and jicama) You should try it!