Busy Month

I’m really glad that I didn’t postpone my Tuesday run because yesterday was one of those days where I actually had a valid excuse to not work out. The day started off badly and just never got any better. I woke up at 4:45 and could not fall back asleep. I ended up skipping the last day of boot camp because I finally grew tired again around 6:15, the time I needed to leave my house to go to the park. I knew that going to work on 5 hours of sleep was not going to cut it, so I reset my alarm and slept until 7:45.

My intention was to run again after work, but I ended up having to work until 8:30 that night. I was not a happy camper. I was tired and hungry and couldn’t wait to fall into my bed when I got home; working out was the last thing on my mind. I was also very glad that I’d run the day before so I wouldn’t feel guilty about using yesterday as a rest day.

My race is one month out. I love and hate this part of training. I love it because I’m running a lot and the runs seem easier than they did when I first started to train. A 5 mile run is no big deal whereas two months ago, it was hard. I feel stronger and in better shape when I’m running more often like this. But I hate it because running seems to dictate my life. The month of October is very busy for me. I think this weekend is the only one where I don’t have something planned.

Seriously, have a look:

weekend of the 10th – going to a friend’s wedding in San Diego
weekend of the 17th – maybe going to Athens, GA for the weekend; also a good friend’s (and former roommate of three years) birthday that Sunday
weekend of the 24th – mom coming to visit and a possible meet the parents dinner between Jason’s parents and mine
weekend of the 31st – race and halloween!

Though they’re all fun things, it’s sort of stressful for me to have such a packed schedule and on top of it, fit in an 8, 9 and 10 mile run!

So, I was cleaning last weekend and came across a print out of a recipe that a co-worker had given me for Moo Shu Lettuce Wraps. These called for beef, but I substituted Quorn.

IMG_2158

Moo Sho Beef Lettuce Cups

Ingredients
1 spray(s) cooking spray
1 pound(s) uncooked lean ground beef (with 7% fat)
1 cup(s) onion(s), yellow, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp ginger root, fresh, minced
2 medium garlic clove(s), minced
2 cup(s) bok choy, thinly sliced
1 medium sweet red pepper(s), thinly sliced
2 cup(s) button mushrooms, thinly sliced (about 10 mushrooms)
2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
8 leaf bibb lettuce
Instructions
Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and set pan over medium-high heat. Add beef, onion, ginger and garlic; cook until beef is browned and onion is soft, breaking up meat as it cooks, about 5 to 7 minutes.

Add bok choy, pepper, mushrooms and soy sauce; cook, stirring occasionally, until bok choy is wilted and pepper is tender-crisp, about 3 to 5 minutes.

Spoon about 1/2 cup of beef mixture into each lettuce leaf. Yields 2 filled leaves per serving. Serve with extra soy sauce if desired (could affect POINTS values).

These were good but since I used Quorn instead of beef, they were a bit dry. Jason suggested browning the Quorn in olive oil instead of cooking spray to make it a little less dry.

A few people have emailed me to enquire about the health of my family member. I haven’t written about it in the past week or so because we are just waiting right now. He has to have a small procedure done which will determine the next step and that’s scheduled for the end of the month so I won’t really know anything until then, unfortunately. I really appreciate everyone’s emails and comments and well wishes for my family! It means a lot to me. Hopefully at the end of October, we will get some good news.

9 responses to “Busy Month

  1. Glad to know someone out there is with me on the soy dogs. I hope that your family member’s procedure goes well and will keep thinking good thoughts for you and the rest of your fam. I absolutely love lettuce wraps. My favorite kind are at PF Changs but we rarely go out there since it’s always soo crowded. Nice to know you can make them at home with positive results πŸ™‚

  2. Fingers crossed for good news about your family member!

  3. angieinatlanta

    Yikes! You are super busy this month! But you’re right, at least it is fun stuff!

    I’m definitely thinking about you and your family member; keep me updated.

  4. homegirlcaneat

    Ah I love/hate busy months/weeks. But all the things you’re doing (wedding, race) better then being busy at school (exam, drinking til 2 when class at 8) πŸ˜€

    Keeping yo fam in my thoughts lady!

  5. I hope you have good news after the procedure…I’m thinking about you and praying for you!

    Wow, that is one busy month. I like to be busy, I actually prefer it, but sometimes I give myself mini-panic attacks when I see everything on the calendar like that. But just think of your next free weekend…your race will be done, and you can have some serious – and much deserved – rest time. πŸ™‚

  6. Still praying for you and your family.

    Is this a weight watcher recipe? I noticed it said something about the points value in there… did it have the points value on there anywhere? Just curious, because this looks delicious!! πŸ™‚

  7. Omg…I HATE it when I don’t sleep well. That happens to me sometimes where I wake up super early, can’t sleep, then when I do finally get tired, I have to get up! Ahhh. Your moo sho wraps look yummmmmy πŸ™‚