Meal Planning

I’m trying to make myself (and Jason) a weekly meal plan, a la Kelly. It seemed a little overwhelming, so instead of abandoning the entire idea, I decided to start slow and plan some dinners. On the plane back from SD, I looked through some recipes and planned out three for the week. Yesterday, we went to Kroger and got the ingredients.

On the menu tonight was Asian grilled salmon with spicy thai cucumbers. I have no idea where I got the recipes; they were just on my computer. I’ll just give you the general gist, so no one sues me.

Asian Grilled Salmon
Serves 2
2 portions of salmon (I used wild frozen salmon that I’d defrosted overnight)
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup lime juice
red pepper
cilantro
garlic
squirt of agave nectar

I marinated the salmon in the sauce for about an hour and a half while I was at the gym. The recipe was for grilled salmon and I asked Jason to try to grill them in the George Foreman while I took a shower. When I came downstairs, they were being pan-fried. Oh well.
IMG_2282

Asian Cucumber Salad (okay this is more than the general gist, but I know this is out there on the interwebs somewhere)
Serves 2
1 cucumber, cut up
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp + 1/2 tsp red wine vinegar

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

1/2 tsp szechuan sauce
red pepper flakes
1 tbsp brown sugar

I marinated the cucumbers in the sauce for an hour and a half. When Jason plated everything for dinner, I realized that the cucumbers were grilled! He thought they were supposed to be cooked. They tasted good hot actually.

IMG_2281

Meal planning was a success today. It was exactly what was on the menu. I just need to keep it up. One day, maybe I’ll incorporate breakfast and lunch into it. I’m so unorganized. Baby steps.

4 responses to “Meal Planning

  1. I really need to start learning how to meal plan before we have kids. Right now it’s not that big of a deal, but I think it’s pretty necessary when you’re feeding little ones too. That salmon looks so delicious! I bet the agave nectar gives it a great flavor. Well done!! 🙂

  2. angieinatlanta

    Yum! That salmon looks glossy and yummy!

    I really need to jump on the meal planning trend…

  3. looks yummy!

    I have attempted meal planning before too, but it always just seems to get forgotten in the hustle and bustle!

  4. girl that salmon looks amazing! i need to meal plan, but i never do. it seems like such a great thing to do!