Quiet Run

I’m so full! I really enjoyed our dinner tonight though – Vegan Goulash

IMG_2288

Ingredients
2 cups onion, diced
2 cups carrot, diced
2 cups zucchini, diced
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 teaspoons chili pepper (I used chili powder, I didn’t know if this meant a cut up chili pepper)
2 tablespoons freshly chopped parsley (I used about 1 tsp of dried)
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I omitted; we didn’t have any)
2 cups diced tomato (I used canned)
15 ounces kidney bean (rinsed and drained)
15 ounces navy bean (rinsed and drained)
1 cup tomato juice (I used spicy V8)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
Directions
In a large pot, saute the onion, carrot, and zucchini in the olive oil for 5-7 minute Add tomato paste, chili pepper, parsley, and nutmeg. Saute for 2 minutes. Add remaining ingredients, simmer 15 minutes.

I served this over 1/2 cup brown rice. And of course, I franked it. I really liked this recipe but Jason thought it needed meat. Boys and their meat! It was basically chili though, not goulash. Actually, I have no idea what goulash is. I picture egg noodles with gravy.

Before dinner, I went on a 5 mile run. It had been raining on and off all day. I don’t mind getting rained on because it’s still in the 60s here so it’s not cold. But I didn’t want to risk ruining my ipod. So, I set off for my run music-free. I seriously never do this. I am one of those people that feels like I need music to run. But today, I realized that I don’t! I like listening to music but running without it felt pretty much the same as running with it. I couldn’t do it on the treadmill, but I guess the scenery kept it interesting. What about you? If you are a runner, do you run with music?

12 responses to “Quiet Run

  1. angieinatlanta

    I can’t do it without music. I think it’s a psychological crutch – like I COULD do but I’m too scared!

  2. I used to think I couldn’t run without music but then when I ran a marathon last october and they seriously OUTLAWED ipods and I had to give it up at the starting line, I realized it could be done. I actually enjoyed it more than I thought. Your “goulash” looks super fresh and fabulous. I use the word goulash for when I just end up throwing a bunch of ingredients in a pot, no idea if that’s correct or not!

  3. I have never really run any sort of distance outside, but I always have tunes when I’m on the t-mill!

  4. That looks great!

    I run outside, w/o music. When I run inside, there has to be a TV on at the gym. Otherwise I can’t take it.

  5. I never run outside with music. My mom always told me that it would make me more of a target to “bad guys” because they could sneak up on me more easily. I enjoy the peace and quiet and being able to sort through my thoughts without anything else going on in my brain. Everyone’s different though and I can see how music would totally motivate people to run harder/faster.

  6. I run on the treadmill usually – because I like that it’s flat (lol) and that I can track my stats. That’s what I really don’t like about running outside – I have no idea of cals burned, distance, etc. And I am always wayyy lazier when I run outside. I think I am going to practice some more on the t-mill and then try outside runs 🙂

  7. I’ve been wanting to make goulash lately… but not the vegetarian kind. 😉 Maybe next week!

  8. Peanut Butter Bliss

    I rarely run with music anymore – even on the treadmill. I think my runs go by faster because I don’t really have anything to gage my time by

  9. Spicy V8 is the best soup shortcut ever! It’s also really delicious in black bean soup!