Two mistakes

I did my 5 mile run today and it was not the best run. I attribute it to two mistakes that I made:

1. I had a crap day at work yesterday. I was extremely stressed out about something pretty much all day. After work, I went to this USA Today (we’re one of their clients) event at the High Museum with three co-workers. The event had appetizers (I had two mozzarella balls and some bruschetta) and free alcohol. And that, my friend is the numero uno reason that my run sucked. Wine. Throughout the course of the event, I had about 2.5 glasses of wine. I know that I can’t drink and then run the next day, but it made mingling easier and after a difficult day, I felt like it was warranted.

Except that my run sucked because of it. I don’t know why that happens. I wasn’t hungover; I didn’t get drunk last night or anything. I felt fine all day (except still stressed) but when I ran, I felt the alcohol from last night.

2. I was hungry when I got home. We had some Baked Ruffles and I shoved a handful into my mouth right before I went running. And wouldn’t you know it, I got a cramp about a mile into the run. Bleh.

But even though it wasn’t a particularly fun 5 miles, I still got it done. This is actually my last 5 mile run before the race. I mean, I have to run 10 this weekend, but next week will be taper week, where there’s a 4, 3 and 2.

Mi madre is coming to visit me this weekend. Actually, she’s coming to visit Jason’s parents. They live 2 hours north of us and they are going to drive down to ATL and we’re all going to have dinner. I picked Seasons 52. When I chose it, I forgot that’s where I took my mother the last time she was here, but I just love it so much! And it has a variety of different foods to choose from so I thought that everyone would be happy. Wish us luck with the meeting of the parents! Not sure if I’m going to be taking any pictures at dinner; my [future] in-laws know about the blog, but my mother does not.

7 responses to “Two mistakes

  1. angieinatlanta

    I’m sorry about your lackluster run but hey, look on the bright side – you got in the run, you did the miles, that’s what really matters.

    How exciting to have your mom in town and to have the big first meeting! Hope all goes well!!!

  2. Love Seasons 52, the desserts are phenomenal. I suppose I could have a lara bar (no added sugar, just fruit sugars) as you said on my post, but I had a bad experience with one at one time and haven’t been back since. I see them everywhere on here and feel like I am missing out, maybe I should try again. I could use a little variety flavor wise. Also I always notice that when I run the day after having a drink the night before it always sucks! probably the dehydration even though you weren’t hung over. oh well as you said you got it in!

  3. Have fun spending time with family. Don’t let one run get ya down..always tomorrows run.

  4. Good luck with the meet up! I’m sure it will go well, parents are usually on their best behavior at those types of things. πŸ™‚

    Better run next time!

  5. You got the run done! Great job. Don’t let it get to ya:)

  6. Sorry you weren’t super thrilled with your run. 😦 At least you got out there!!

    GOOD LUCK with the parent meet up!! It will be just fine!! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never been to seasons 52. I’ve heard so many good things though!! Have a nice time!!