Meet the parents

In anticipation of a busy weekend, I managed to squeeze in a lunchtime workout yesterday. I did 10 minutes on the elliptical to warm up and then:

2 sets of 12 squats
2 sets of 12 pushups (against a bench thing)
2 sets of 12 rows, 15 lbs in each hand
2 sets of 12 step ups, 5 lbs in each hand, both legs
2 ab moves (I don’t know what it’s called)

I’m glad I got it done, because by the time I got home from work, Jason’s parents were already here. We chatted for a while and his mom and I went to Loehmann’s to see if they might have any dresses for her for our wedding (they didn’t.) Then we picked up my mom who’s flight landed around 6 and went to dinner at Seasons 52.

I’m obsessed with Seasons 52. I feel like I have so much freedom there because everything is healthy. I don’t have to scout out the most healthy thing on the menu. We started out with a tomato flatbread for the table. I had the Shrimp salad for my meal. And for dessert, a shot glass of pumpkin pie. Yum. Not sure if everyone else appreciated the healthiness of the menu, but I liked it. Everyone got along really well and there was no awkwardness at the table. When we got back to our house, we opened up a bottle of champagne that my boss bought me back in June when we got engaged. I had about 3/4 of a flute. I don’t really like champagne unless it’s mixed with juice.

I’m about to go run 10 miles. I feel sort of bad about leaving my mom here, but I need to get it in. I’m really not in the mood to run, but it’s about 55 and cloudy out, so maybe it’ll feel good once I get into the groove of things. One week until the race!

9 responses to “Meet the parents

  1. Glad to hear the meeting of the ‘rents went well!! Have fun with your 10 today! My number of miles today might be the same, minus the first digit… 😉

  2. Great workout! Hope the 10 goes great today – and YUM – love seasons 52!

  3. angieinatlanta

    Yay! Glad everything went well!

  4. Glad your night went well!

    That restaurant sounds really awesome – healthy & yummy!

  5. Peanut Butter Bliss

    hope your night went well.
    sounds like a great restaurant!!

  6. Yay for family! That restaurant sounds perfect. Love that the pie was a shot glass!

    And to answer your question, we’re moving 2 hours away from where we live now. 🙂

  7. ooh, it looks like seasons is coming to the phila. suburbs! i’ll have to go with my parents when the king of prussia one opens. the desserts sound awesome – love the idea of a dessert all to myself 🙂

    to answer your question on my site i’m training for charlotte’s thunder road (dec 12). i briefly thought about coming to do a half in atlanta but i’m kind of tired of traveling so . . . maybe another time!

  8. Some of my best shorter workouts are the ones that I had to hurry up and “squeeze in”. Cool.