Ow

My friend Joan and I set off for the Silver Comet Trail around 8:30 yesterday morning to do the 10 mile run. I was having a lot of trouble getting into it. My legs felt heavy and sore and I was cursing myself for doing those squats and step ups the day before. At the 5 mile point, I had a GU and that did seem to give me a burst of energy. Miles 5-8.5 were probably the best of the run. I got into a groove and felt fine. But I guess the sugar rush wore off when I had 1.5 miles to go. I just felt drained of all energy. The last mile seemed to take forever! But we managed to finish. I didn’t have my Garmin on but I imagine we were running about a 10:45-11 mph pace. Fine with me for the long run.

On the drive home, I kept feeling like my skin around my chest was stinging. When I got ready to shower and took off my sports bra, I saw that there had been some major chafing going on. Weird thing was, it was only on the left side. I think that after I saw what it looked like, it started to hurt more. Psychological reaction maybe? Anyway, I couldn’t wear a bra for the rest of the day. I do have some Body Glide, but didn’t even think to use it because I have never experienced boob chafing before! I don’t know if it was the specific bra I was wearing, or just that I’m running more mileage, but holy hell, not fun. It feels much better today though.

My mother and I did some shopping and then she wanted frozen yogurt. We decided to try a new yogurt place in Decatur that I’d never been to called The Yogurt Tap. This is sort of the best thing ever. (Well, besides Yoforia which holds a near and dear place in my heart.) They had six different kinds of yogurt on the wall and you just got however much you wanted.
IMG_2321

Then you go over to the toppings bar and put on whatever toppings you want. They weigh the yogurt at the end and charge you by weight.

IMG_2322

I got original and caramel apple yogurt, topped with strawberries, kiwi, cinnamon toast crunch and chocolate chips. My eyes were a little bigger than my stomach, though, and I didn’t finish it all.

After yogurt, my mom and I walked around a really big and nice Whole Foods for fun. She loved it. Like mother, like daughter, right? My mom actually said that she didn’t understand when people didn’t like to go to the grocery store. Me neither.

I just dropped my mom off at the airport and I’m debating taking a nap or walking the Murphster. He’s chilling on the back stoop and seems content so the nap might win.

8 responses to “Ow

  1. i also LOVe the grocery store. haha my dad thinks im weird because i always offer to do his shopping for him. sometimes i will go to the grocery store just to walk around and browse. It’s like window shopping for the foodie in me haha

  2. angieinatlanta

    First off, kudos for finishing your miles! Impressive!

    Secondly, I love walking around Whole Foods too. I’m obsessed with grocery shopping

    Finally, THANK YOU FOR TELLING ME ABOUT YOGURT TAP! I have been looking for a self-serve yogurt place for a long time!

  3. sorry about the chafing! sounds painful. that fro yo looks incredible!!! have a nice sunday night 🙂

  4. Yikes on the chaffing. I am surprised I didn’t have any after my long run today. I find that I get it just on one side too! I hope your feeling better 🙂 Also I love my fuel belt, I velcro it really tight right along my waist (across my belly button) and it stays put. I think if you had it on your hips it might bounce more. Annnd that fro yo place is making me drool, I am seriously craving some since I have been “sugar free” since Thursday.

  5. Congrats on the run – that is awesome!!! I’ve never experience chaffing before, but it does look/seem painful. 😦

    WOW. I would go to that fro-yo place quite often. We used to have a place similar to that near me, but alas, it is closed. My bank account is happy about this, but I am not.

  6. heyyy yogurt twin 🙂 yours looks YUMMYYY