Attention ATL (and some casserole)

IMG_2326

This doesn’t look that appetizing, but Jason just referred to it as “amazingly good.” The recipe can be found here but I’ll type it out for you so you don’t have to search.

Cheesy Baked Rice

2 teaspoons SmartSpread
1 medium yellow onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup brown rice
1 jar (4 ounces) roasted red peppers, drained
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 package (10 ounces) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
1 cup shredded reduced-fat mozzarella cheese
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray a 1-1/2 quart casserole dish with cooking spray.

In a medium saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Add onion and garlic; sauté until lightly browned, about 8 minutes.

Add broth, rice, roasted red peppers, and black pepper. Bring mixture to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer until liquid is absorbed, about 20 minutes. Remove from heat.

In a medium bowl, combine rice mixture, spinach, and mozzarella. Spoon into prepared casserole. Sprinkle parmesan on top. Bake until top is golden, about 30 minutes. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

I forgot the parmesan cheese topping, but otherwise followed the directions. Although it was delicious, it took nearly an hour to make, which was sort of a pain for a Monday night.

So, I’ve been thinking about trying to arrange an Atlanta blogger (or reader) dinner for a while. I keep seeing other bloggers do it in their cities and it seems like a fun thing to do. I know that there are at least 5-6 of us in the ATL. Maybe a Friday or Saturday night in November? Let me know if you’re interested!

13 responses to “Attention ATL (and some casserole)

  1. That looks and sounds really good. I love simple meals like that. I wish I was in ATL because I would love to meet up! I am actually attending a Boston Blogger luncheon this Sunday which I am super pumped for. Great idea!

  2. angieinatlanta

    Hey, let’s do it! I’m all about a meet-up! Any Friday/Saturday works for me except for the 13th!

  3. I wish I could come to your bloggy dinner. 9 hours isn’t too far of a drive…right?

  4. Mmm, that rice looks good!
    Let’s do a meet-up! That would be fun. 🙂

  5. I think that sounds really fun! There are so many good restaurants in Atlanta, and now it seems like there really are a bunch of Atlanta bloggers… maybe it would motivate me to finally start my own blog. 🙂

  6. What a great recipe! My family is obsessed with cheese so I bet they’d love it!

  7. Oh I love baked rice. It’s a big thing in Asia, usually with seafood, creamy sauce, and baked with cheese on top.

  8. I’m definitely on board for the blogger dinner! I’m booked the 13th, and the entire weekend of the 20-22. Other than that, I think I’m free. Looks like the 1st or 2nd weekend of Nov. is the best for me. Let me know what you decide!! 🙂

  9. mm looks fantastic girlie 🙂
    love the green beans on the side too!