Restaurant Meals

This week has really flown by. I have this project that lasts for a few months that always keeps me insanely busy on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. I end up having to stay late and almost lose my cool each week, but ultimately, it makes the week go by really quickly. I actually really thrive when I’m insanely busy. But on the downside, when I’m busy, certain things fall through the wayside. Fortunately, it’s not usually exercising. I’m pretty good at getting a solid five days of excerise a week in, occasionally it drops to four, but never less. What does suffer more are my meals. I don’t start going to McDonald’s for lunch or anything like that, but I do find myself eating out more often, mostly dinners.

To illustrate my point.

After work last night, I did a 2 quick mile run on the treadmill in my office gym. It actually passed very fast which kind of surprised me because my ipod decided to die (hopefully not for good) and I had to do the whole treadmill run sans music. After I finished, I rushed home, showered and Jason and I went to Macy’s to do our wedding registry. We were there for probably an hour. Registering for stuff is much more stressful than it sounds! I’m sure I’m missing a bunch of key items! After Macy’s, we decided to use our restaurant.com gift certificate for a nearby place that neither or us had tried, Urban Flats. Do you guys use restaurant.com? It’s awesome. They have all of these local restaurant gift certificates for at least half price. When it gets close to the end of the month, they go on super sale. We were able to get this one ($25 gift certificate) for $4, I think. You have to look at the fine print; usually you need to spend a certain amount of money and sometimes they aren’t good on the weekends, but it’s a really cool website and we’ve gone to a bunch of restaurants that we wouldn’t have normally gone to because of it.

Anyway. Urban Flats. I’m not sure what I thought of this place, honestly. The inside was nice and open. In order to use the gift certificate, we had to spend a certain amount of money so we got a hummus appetizer. I really liked the presentation!

IMG_2332

Not sure what the differences were between the hummuses (hummi?) but the black one was an olive tapenade. They were all pretty good. What I did not like, however, was that the pitas had cheese on them. Not necessary at all, in my opinion. I would have asked for them without, but the menu didn’t say that it was going to be on there. I hate when a menu doesn’t specify how an item is prepared. If it’s something that I really don’t like, like mayo on a sandwich, I’ll send it back, but I can deal with some cheese.

This restaurant was one of those that I thought it was going to be relatively healthy, but when my food came out, I realized that was not the case. I ordered the artichoke, portobello and goat cheese sandwich with a side salad.

IMG_2335

The menu said that it would be in a grilled flatbread, but this was almost like a pie crust. There was definitely mozzarella cheese in there as well. It was good, but not sure how “splurge-worthy” it was. Oh well.

After dinner, we decided to walk across the street to Taco Mac to have a beer. Do they have Taco Mac in other parts of the country or is it just an Atlanta thing? It’s a chain of sports bars that have tons of tvs tuned to different sports and also, tons of beer. Check it out!

IMG_2337

This is just the draft selection; they have many more that come in bottles. I had a Shock Top. I only drank maybe 3/4 of it though. I was tired and ready to go home.

I was supposed to go out to dinner tonight with a friend but she cancelled. I’m secretly glad though. Sometimes I start to feel nervous when I go out to dinner too often. I’m also supposed to do the pasta dinner thing tomorrow with my running friends. So that would have been three nights in a row. How often do you go out to eat? I’d say that out of the seven days, I probably go out at least twice, sometimes three times. I feel like this is on the high end of the spectrum. I’m curious what others do.

Since I ended up eating at home tonight, I actually did follow my meal plan and had chili and cornbread for dinner.

IMG_2357

See our thank you notes in the background? The cornbread muffins were just from a mix. I used to eat Jiffy mix as a kid, but it has trans fat in it, so I picked a different one. The chili recipe is found here. For once in my life, I followed the recipe exactly. It made a lot, more like 3 servings.

6 responses to “Restaurant Meals

  1. I went to the Urban Flats in Snellville for a wine tasting with my mom, sister, MIL (mother in law), SIL, and their friends over the summer. The wine of course was great, but I wasn’t crazy about their hummus or flat breads. Taco Mac is one of my favorite places to go out to! I think it is just a southern thing if I remember correctly. They post their nutritional info which I think is awesome! Love that they have healthy options!!

    You know how I am about going out to eat… I’d say we go out once every 2 weeks. Mostly either for mexican, indian, or taco mac!! 🙂

  2. I was completely underwhelmed by Urban Flats! The music was too loud (I felt like I was in Abercrombie or something) and the food was just mediocre.
    Those restaurant.com coupons are so tricky! I almost got one for Flying Biscuit, until I realized that it couldn’t be used on Saturday.
    I totally understand that you don’t like to feel like you go out to eat too often (I like to eat out on weekends), but it might make you feel better if you think of all the people who eat out daily! 🙂

    • There was actually a guy playing a guitar and singing when we first got there and it was way too loud. Fortunately, it was his last song.

  3. Thanks for the tip on Restaurant.com. I will have to check that out but be sure to read all the fine print after reading the comments on here. I was actually going to make some cornbread the other day using a Jiffy mix because it was in “the house” kitchen but then I realized what awful ingredients it contained. I guess making it from scratch isn’t that hard after all. Sorry you weren’t that happy with your dining experience, I hate when that happens. The sandwich does LOOK good though.

    • The mix I used wasn’t much better, nutritionally, but it didn’t have any trans fat in it at least. I bet Trader Joe’s has a decent corn bread mix. I’m going to take a look next time I go.