My first race

I’m going to preface this post by saying that very few of my family members know about my blog. If you’re one of the ones who do, and are learning this information for the first time, please don’t out my blog!

I don’t know when or why I started running. I take that back. I know why. For a very long time, I ran to lose weight. I only ran 2-3 miles and at a very slow pace. This went on for a few years. I’m not sure why, but at some point, I became obsessed with the idea of running a half marathon. Honestly, I don’t remember really training for it. At some point, my father, who lives in Maryland, decided he was going to run it with me. He’d never run more than a 10K race. I’d never run a race period. The race was the Silver Comet Half Marathon in 2005.

This was four years ago, so the details of the race are kind of foggy. My dad flew in on a Friday afternoon. I picked him up at the airport and we raced over to pick up our numbers. It was cold out. Much colder than he’d planned for. We had to stop at Target and get him a long sleeved shirt. I remember starting the race and almost tearing up. I was actually doing this; I was actually running a half marathon. At one point, my father told me that if I wanted to run faster, I could. I felt like a badass and ran ahead. I thought I’d left him in my dust. Not so. As I turned around at the halfway point, he was right behind me. We ran the second half of the race together and at the end, I managed to beat him by one second.

2005-10-29

As some of you already know, when I was blogging about my family member with the health issue, I was talking about my father. He went in for a routine physical a few months ago and came out with bladder cancer. Well, not really, but you know what I mean. He’s had the tumor removed and we’ve sort of gone through a roller coaster of events. First it looked kind of grim. It looked to be a rare sort of cancer that was aggressive and possibly invasive. There was a lot of talk of bladder removal surgery. Then he had another biopsy. The doctor told him that his bladder looked healthy and that from the naked eye, it looked like the cancer had been removed with the original procedure. Today we got the biopsy results. Well, I did. He might have gotten them yesterday. The cancer cells are still present and it’s an unusual type of cell. They have not invaded the walls of the bladder, which is good, but they are still there. He begins a treatment therapy next week which consists of injecting something into the bladder one day a week for six weeks in the hopes that it will kill the cancer cells. This has a 30-40% chance of working. The cancer has not spread anywhere and is contained within his bladder, which is a very good thing. But if this treatment does not work, he will probably have to have his bladder removed, which is a major surgery.

I’m running the Silver Comet Half Marathon again tomorrow. I cannot help but to think of my father when I run it. I feel in my heart that he is going to be okay and that I am somehow running this race for him.

9 responses to “My first race

  1. Your dad is so lucky to have such a sweet and caring daughter. I’ll continue to pray for him.

    Good luck at the 1/2 tomorrow! I wish I could run it with you!! You’ll do great!! šŸ™‚

  2. What a touching post. I really hope that the treatment works for your Dad. What a great thing that your running the race again tomorrow and are able to remember running it together. Good luck on the race and with everything. We’ll all be thinking the best for you. šŸ™‚

  3. angieinatlanta

    Hey, I was actually wondering about your dad the other day. I’m still thinking about him, still praying for him and you, and still sending positive vibes your way.

    Good luck with your 1/2 tomorrow; I know you’ll be great and I know that your dad will be proud to hear about it!

  4. Your dad is lucky to have you & it sounds like you are lucky to have him! What a sweet story about your first half!

    I too know how it is to have a sick father. My dad was diagnosed with a brain tumor in October of 2005. I was a senior in high school & my dad is my world…the news hit me like a ton of bricks. I had to face brain surgery, all this crazy stuff but because of the struggle we’ve all faced, we’ve grown and changed and adapted and I know I am a person from all the stressin’ and taking care of him I did (and still do, on occasion šŸ˜€ ) then! He’s doing okay now – he lives his life, with only occasional interruptions from his tumor (seizures and stuff) but he’s workin’ around it & he’s kept livin’ his life!

    I’ll be thinking of your dad & if you ever wanna talk, shoot me an email. I hope everything turns out ok for you guys, I’m sure it will!

  5. Wow – what a touching post. I am sorry that you are having to go through this right now. I think running is therapeutic, so maybe it will be good for you to dedicate your run to your father. I ran my first marathon in memory of a very good friend of mine who died in a freak accident a few years ago. The whole experience was so emotional, but so cathartic. You have such a good attitude, and I know your dad will pull through – I will keep you in your family in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. lee, i’m so sorry! i will be crossing every appendage that the treatment works! he sounds like an awesome guy — i am so impressed that he ran a half marathon with you!

  7. Oh my gosh, Lee….this brought tears to my eyes. My dad means the world to me, so I can’t begin to imagine what you’re going through.

    That is very good news that the cancer hasn’t spread. I will pray that his treatment works, and hopefully he won’t need to have the surgery. And if he does, I hope that he recovers quickly. You’re in my thoughts and prayers and your father is very lucky to have a caring, supportive daughter like you!

  8. I’ll pray for your father to get better. This was a great post- thank you for sharing it with us. I know that it can’t be easy to talk about, but it’s really cool that you guys ran that race together and will have that memory forever.