Blame it on the Rain

They posted the chip time for Saturday’s race. 2:17:02. 33 seconds off from a PR! I’m so pissed. If it hadn’t rained the entire time, I would have definitely PR’d. Oh well. It’s still pretty damn close, right?

I’m kind of on the hunt for some sort of PR now. I’ve run a bunch of races and it seems like, with the exception of this one, I’m just getting slower. I know I should incorporate more speedwork and tempo runs into the mix if I want to get faster. I’m kind of thinking about running a 5K this weekend. I feel like if I could almost PR in a 13.1 mile race, I can certainly run my little heart out in a 3.1 mile one.

This is one of the more flattering race pictures that I’ve ever had taken. And that’s saying a lot since I kind of look like I want to die.

TSP_823767.JPG

As you can see from the picture, it’s a really pretty trail. The whole race was on it, so the scenery was nice.

TSP_970839.JPG

My two friends and I. This would be such a cute picture if my visor wasn’t pushing down on my ears like that.

I pretty much ate like crap all weekend. I got back on track today though. For dinner, I was determined to use up some peppers that I had in the fridge. The easiest thing to do with peppers, imo, is stuff them. I took some leftover beans from last week’s chili and pureed them with some salsa. Then I mixed the bean stuff with Kashi Fiery Fiesta Pilaf. I spooned the mixture into the peppers and microwaved it for three minutes. Then I put cheese on top and microwaved it until the cheese melted. Voila, instant stuffed peppers.

IMG_2372.JPG

I’m tired. I kind of want to go to sleep. It feels much later than 7:15.

10 responses to “Blame it on the Rain

  1. For just throwing them together those stuffed peppers look pretty awesome!! That’s a GREAT race – don’t let those 33 seconds get to you. 🙂 I think both pics are cute – it does look pretty – but definitely wet. 😦

  2. Both of those pics are GREAT of you! You look so strong!! 🙂 I’m so impressed you did so well in the rain. Be PROUD, you did so good!!!

    Those stuffed peppers look fantastic! YUM!!

  3. Those are GREAT pictures!! I have never in my life met someone who takes awesome race pictures. I look like I want to kill someone and my mouth is ALWAYS open. 🙂

    Hey, 33 seconds for running in the RAIN is great!! I know what you mean, but so many people wouldn’t even run in the rain at all. You finished strong, and that is what matters!

  4. The stuffed peppers look great! I love dinners that are quick & healthy.

    I love Cabbagetown, so of course I think you should do that 5k… set a PR and then go to Carroll Street Cafe to celebrate. 🙂

  5. I think I need one of those stuffed peppers right now! I love the idea of using the beans – I’m so used to ground beef/turkey in mine. I’ll have to try the bean/rice mix soon.

    Congrats on your great race finish!

  6. You should be really proud of your time, that close to a P.R. is awesome especially with the rain! Rain really affects my runs actually I don’t ever run in it unless I have to. The pictures of you are great too, I didn’t even notice your ears until you pointed it out 😉 Great idea on the peppers too, I have a can of refried beans that I need to use up/want to eat and this would be a perfect solution.

  7. angieinatlanta

    Dude (;-)) That time is AWESOME! I know you wanted to PR but considering the racing conditions, you should be really proud of yourself!

    P.S. I don’t think you look like you want to die; you look intense and focused!

  8. I can’t get enough of the Fiery fiesta Pilaf…love it. Looks good in a stuffed pepper too. Congrats on the race.