Now what?

I wanted to use up my leftover bean/rice mix for dinner tonight. I thought about doing another stuffed pepper but decided to get creative instead. I attempted to make black bean burgers out of the mixture. I didn’t have any eggs so I used 1 tbsp flax seed and 3 tbsp water. I mixed that with the bean mixture and pan fried it. Total recipe FAIL.

IMG_2375.JPG

The outside crisped up but the inside was still the consistency of a bean dip. Oh well, I ate it anyway. I think my bean/salsa to rice ratio was not right. Too many watery ingredients. I tried. This plate is desperately missing a green vegetable. I need to go to the grocery store.

I ran 3 miles during my lunch break today. I figured two days without exercise was sufficient. I’ve read that you are supposed to take as many days of as miles of the race, but I think that’s BS. I’m not going to take two weeks off! I’m kind of at a loss for what to do now though. I am the type of person that thrives on a training schedule. Leave me to my own accord and well, it doesn’t work. I would like to maintain my endurance level. That’s something that I struggle with after every race.

I’m still debating whether or not I should run the 5K on Saturday morning. I’m actually planning on going to the festival later in the day. The only reason not to run it would be because I want to sleep in, but considering I’ve pretty much lost my ability to, that’s not a good reason. I guess I should just sign up. I emailed the race director to see if there was race day registration, which there is, since I’m being so indecisive about this.

7 responses to “Now what?

  1. Great idea to add flax to your bean burgers! I’ll have to try that.

    That is definitely BS about taking that many days off from working out! I think I took 2-3 days off after my past 1/2’s. Then I was ready to go!

  2. What about the ING Marathon on March 21? That gives you plenty of time to recover, then start training. I would like to run the Half marathon – I would love to just jump into training for the full Marathon, but I think I need to start with the half first.

    I say run the 5k. It will get you out running for that day, and you will get the whole race environment too.

    • I am pretty sure that I am going to run the ING half. A part of me sort of wants to do the full, but with wedding planning and family stuff right now, training for a marathon is kind of out of the question.

      You should do it too!

  3. hey burger twin 🙂 and i hope you love hot yogaaaaaaaa!! 🙂

  4. I know that you said you want to keep your endurance level up, but what about some sort of yoga/running challenge? I think that you’ll be surprised (in a good way) by hot yoga tonight… I really hope that you like it!

  5. oh no – I despise a recipe fail! So sorry.