Too Good to Be True

I chose four recipes for this week’s dinners:

1. Spinach and Feta Bake
2. Chicken Soup
3. Feta Shrimp
4. Southwest Spaghetti Squash.

Tonight I decided to do an easy one and went with the Spinach and Feta Pita Bake. The recipe is found on allrecipes.com. This was basically a disguised pita pizza. And you know how much I love my pita pizzas.

IMG_2401.JPG

Spinach and Feta Pita Bake – adapted from allrecipes.com
Serves 1

1 whole wheat or multi-grain pita bread
sundried tomato pesto (to cover the bread, not sure of the exact amount)
1 roma tomato, chopped
1 handful of spinach, chopped
1 mushroom, chopped
1 tbsp and 1 tsp reduced fat feta cheese
1 tsp grated parmesan cheese
spray of olive oil from misto
freshly ground pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F

2. Spread tomato pesto onto one side of pita bread, and place it pesto side up on a baking sheet. Top with tomatoes, spinach, mushrooms, feta cheese, and Parmesan cheese. Drizzle with olive oil and season with pepper.

3. Bake for 8 minutes.

This was good but I realized something. I bought Publix brand feta cheese and I don’t like it as much as Athenos brand. The Athenos brand is softer. Anyone else know what I mean? I’ve noted this before, but forgot when I bought the cheese.

I did a bit of googling about the houses that we looked at yesterday. I knew it was too good to be true. They are in a very bad school district. The houses are sort of between a nice area and a not-so nice area and while they are actually in the nice part, the schools that they feed into are not. I don’t know if Jason and I are going to even have kids, but being in a bad school district brings the resale value of a home way down. Plus, if we do have kids, I want them to go to a good school and don’t have the money to send them to private school. I was very lucky growing up. I went to public school the entire time but the public schools in my county were very, very good. Granted, I lived in the DC suburbs and not the city. I really want to live ITP but the schools just generally suck. What’s a girl to do?

Did you go to public or private school? If you are planning on having kids, where will you send them?

12 responses to “Too Good to Be True

  1. I love it when I am organized to plan meals for the week…hasn’t happened in a while.

    Also, I teach at a public school, and ideally would love to send my kids to a public school, too. However, it totally depends on what the schools in our area are like. Where we live now – it would be great…but if we moved north even 15 miles – I would consider private because it’s a rough area…and I know what the schools are like from subbing there. No bueno.

  2. i went to public school and i will send my kids(when i have them) to public school. in my opinion(and this is just my opinion and not true for all) but private schools produce either snobby kids, or rebels. Yes, that is everywhere, but its just my opinion lol

  3. All of your recipes for the week sound great!! That feta pita bake looks fantastic!!

    I went to public school – my mom is a teacher too so I went with her to the school she taught at. Being a public school teacher, I feel strongly that children can get an excellent education – at least at the schools I’ve attended/taught at.

  4. I went to a public school and I intend on sending our children to public school. I think private schools are a waste of money. We might decide to homeschool just for Elementary school. While our county has a great school system – the elementary school thats connected to where we just bought our house isn’t in the greatest neighborhood and the test scores are pretty low at the school. but then again, its elementary school and if we’re diligent parents maybe it’ll all be ok??? but generally we’re in a good county for the school system πŸ™‚

  5. I went to public school and had no issues.

    I work in a wonderful private school right now. It’s not too expensive (compared to others in the area) and I think it is a great environment. Since it isn’t as expensive you get parents that just want to send their kids to a Christ centered environment. I haven’t met a snobby or stuck up parent yet. I know that’s rare for private schools, but it can happen.

    • I’m Jewish so that school probably won’t work for any potential offspring. πŸ™‚

      But glad to hear that there are non-snobby private schools.

  6. I need to try this meal planning thing. πŸ™‚

    It bothers me that most public schools in Atlanta aren’t very good… I would love to live ITP when I have children and NOT have to spend $$$ on private school. It’s kind of depressing to me that so many parents in Atlanta end up sending their children to private school!

  7. Mmm that looks delicious and I agree that the brand of feta can make a HUGE difference. I went to public school and had a great experience. This was despite the fact that I lived in rural maine and attended a regional high school and graduated with 65 kids! We didn’t have a ton of funding but I can’t complain.

  8. I can’t wait to see the Southwest Spaghetti Squash. I STILL haven’t tried Spaghetti Squash. 😦

    I went to Catholic grade school (until 8th grade) and then public high school. My sisters had your predicament when they were house hunting…they ended up living where we do because the public school system is wonderful. It’s so hard because there are many great homes that are in districts that aren’t so great. Even the school district where I grew up is “going down hill,” – I student taught there and was mortified at how some of the kids acted. 😦

    I think you are smart to think ahead, though. So many people don’t and, like you said, it has a huge impact on the resale value of homes!

  9. okay itp = idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura. to me, anyway. just saying.

    i went to public school and had an okay experience. josh went to private. we plan on living in miami and i am not sure what we’ll do — i think it will depend on our kids, what they’re like, and how they do. if they are kicking butt and loving it in public school, no reason to take them out. if they feel unsafe or need extra attention, then probably private.

  10. (ps i love how i talk about ‘our kids’ like they are already here. they only exist in my mind . . . all 3 of them πŸ™‚ )