Rainy Tuesday Means Soup

It’s a rainy Tuesday here in the ATL. I am so glad that I got my workout done during my lunch break because I cannot imagine venturing out right now. Joining my office building’s gym has really been a great move. I can get so much more accomplished than if I had to drive to LA Fitness. It’s sort of lacking in the weight machines department, but there is a treadmill, a bike and an elliptical. And not a lot of people use the facility, so they’re almost always free.

I was in the mood to run today. I decided to do four miles. I really feel like I am getting a little bit faster. I ran the first two miles at a 10:00/mile pace and the second two at 9:40/mile. I know it doesn’t sound that fast, but considering I did a lot of my ING half marathon training last March at an 10:30/mile pace, I’ll take it! Speaking of faster running, I found out that the 5K that wasn’t was actually 2.6 miles. I ran 2.6 miles in 23 minutes! I am very proud of myself. It would have been a PR, for sure.

Since it was so yuck out, the chicken soup seemed like the obvious choice for dinner. Sorry for the bad picture.

IMG_2429.JPG

The recipe is from allrecipes.com and found here. I halved the recipe and pretty much followed it to a T besides subbing fat free sour cream for regular.

This recipe was Jason approved. That pretty much means that it doesn’t taste uber-healthy! The only thing that I would change is not to use the whole peeled tomatoes. I thought they were sort of weird in there.

Now we’re sitting around watching Dirty Jobs. The featured dirty job is making tofu! Who knew?

Oh, we decided to move the wedding to June. I have mixed feelings about it and the whole thing is quite stressful, but I’m trying to be calm about everything.

14 responses to “Rainy Tuesday Means Soup

  1. angieinatlanta

    You’re right – tonight is definitely a soup kind of night! It’s nasty out there…

    You’re definitely getting faster! 2.6 in 23 sounds awful speedy to me!

    I’m sorry about moving your wedding date; I know it’s been a tough decision. If you ever want to chat or vent, I’m around. Just sayin’.

  2. Well June gives you the most time – it will all work out with the same result – you married – woo!!

    I hate the weather – sad!

    I think those are great speeds, i’m glad you’re making such great progress. I love work gyms!

  3. Were the whole peeled tomatoes in a can? Sometimes canned tomatoes freak me out a little bit! (Weird, I know)

    On the bright side, at least having your wedding in June will give you plenty of time to (re-)plan!

    • Yeah, they were canned. They were weird in the soup. I tried to break them up a little bit. I’m not sure what you would use whole peeled tomatoes for in anything, really.

  4. I’m glad you finally got the date figured out. I’m such that has to be some what of a relief.

  5. Love the soup night and so happy for you guys that you settled on a date. Also good for you for working out on your lunch break! That’s such a great idea 🙂

  6. June will be a fun time of year to get married! I know you’re still disappointed about having to move the date (totally understandable!!), but I’m sure it will be for the best. Now just try and enjoy this time as much as you can. It really is so much fun!! Have you had any wedding showers yet? If not, when is your first one? I want to get married again just for the showers (to Andrew of course)!! hehe! 🙂

    That soup looks waaaaaaay comforting, esp. in this rainy weather.

  7. Yummy soup!

    Maggie

  8. i wonder if i can substitute ff greek yogurt for the sour cream. i never have sour cream on hand?

  9. Hey! Awesome job on the 5k (that wasn’t). Thats a pretty spectacular time for 2.6 miles but it sucks that you didn’t get your PR. There’s nothing more frustrating than putting in the work on your end only to have someone else drop the ball. You’ll get it next time though!