Sweet potato tots?

I have a case of writer’s block tonight. Normally when this happens, I just don’t post, but I took some nice pictures of my dinner and wanted to post them. Jason wanted burgers and fries for dinner. I had a Gardenburger Sundried Tomato patty. I feel like Gardenburger brand has the most pronounceable ingredients. I like the way Morningstar Farms stuff tastes, especially the sausage patties, but have you ever looked at the ingredient list? It’s like ten miles long.

IMG_2432.JPG

On an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin:

IMG_2434.JPG

With lettuce, tomato, pickles and pickles: (oops, I just noticed this. I meant jalapenos!)

IMG_2435.JPG

On the side, Alexia Chipotle sweet potato fries:

IMG_2433.JPG

You know what I was thinking when I was eating the fries? How come no one ever came up with sweet potato tater tots? That would be really good. I started looking up tater tot recipes, but most of them were just recipes that had tater tots in them. Not that I want to make my own tater tots, but someone should come up with sweet potato ones. You hear me, Alexia? You would make a killing!

Before dinner, Jason and I went to Laaaaa Fitness. I did a 20 minute interval treadmill workout. I walked at 3.5 for two minutes and then ran at 7.0 for one minute. It ended up being 1.5 miles. After cardio, I did a NRLFW workout:

deadlifts, 40 lbs, 3 sets of 10
shoulder press, 25 lbs, 3 sets of 10
lat pull down, 70 lbs (a different machine that’s easier, don’t know how to explain it), 3 sets of 10
walking lunges, 25 lbs, 3 sets of 10 on each leg
12 ab things that I don’t know the name of!
12 sit ups
1 minute plank

Do you eat fake meat? What’s your favorite brand? I like Amy’s veggie burgers the best but they’re so expensive. I do not like Boca. At all.

18 responses to “Sweet potato tots?

  1. Morningstar Farms is definitely my favorite! Such a bummer about the ingredients list, I can’t believe I missed that one. Don’t like Boca burgers at all, which makes me mad, b/c they are the only veggie burgers that come in bulk at Sam’s!

  2. Morningstar Farms are my favorite. They were the first veggie burgers I ever tried and I was hooked. Those fries look great. And your sweet potato tot idea is pretty fantastic, Lee! I would devour some SP tots!! 🙂

  3. I like Boca depending on flavor, but I have more fun making my own. I did however find Sunshine burgers at this new store I’m shopping at…can’t wait to eat them.

  4. sweet potato tots. brilliant. seriously!!! i love tots!

  5. I love Morningstar, but never paid attention to the ingreds list. 😦 I will next time! Their tomato/basil veggie burgers are AMAZING. Boca burgers = barf.

    I would DEFinitely eat sweet potato tots!!

  6. angieinatlanta

    Sweet potato tots sounds like a genius idea! FLIP sometimes had them…but they’re more like sweet potato rounds all fried up. Still delicious, though!

    I love Morningstar, too…I know the ingredient list is really long but oh well…I drink Diet Coke like it’s my job too!

  7. I want some sweet potato tots!

    My fave is Morningstar Chipotle Black Bean Burgers

  8. amys quarter pounder veggie burger is my all time fav. paired iwth grilled onions, bbq sauce, and some banana peppers. its my heaven!

  9. I don’t eat fake meat anymore (aside from the occasional tofu pup, I love these things). I used to all the time but then I started thinking that maybe the ingredients weren’t all that great for me. I do eat Dr. Praeger’s Veggie burgers because they have all recognizable ingredients like you were saying about Garden Burgers. S.P. Tater tots is a genius idea too, I think you should get that going and patent it!

    • Gardenburger’s ingredients aren’t perfect; there are a few weird things in the there.

      The thing that I don’t like about Dr. Prager’s is that they fall apart so easily!

  10. You totally need to invent the recipe. Start the biggest trend ever.

  11. I’d totally buy sweet potato tots! You should invent a recipe.

  12. I have had Alexia’s sweet potato fries, but I didn’t that they have CHIPOTLE sweet potato fries! Or did you add the chipotle seasoning to them?

  13. totally obsessed with the sundried tomato gardenburgers – they do have some of the best ingredients next to Dr. P!

  14. Portland harbors sweet potato tots. They exist! everyone just needs to make them popular

  15. I agree about the Sweet Potato Tater Tots. I found a recipe and though I have not tried it yet, it sounds yummy. Here is the link: http://www.abc4.com/content/about_4/gtu/story/Sweet-Potato-Tater-Tots/e7AwMSEZPkCEwbVGT_Cf5w.cspx Good luck and let us all know if they turn out well. I may give this recipe a try next week but I already have some ideas on a couple of tweaks to it. I’ll let ya’ll know how it turns out 🙂 Rock and Roll!!!