Sunday Night Cleaning Intervention

I stayed up past 1am again last night. This time because I was reading a book. I go from one extreme to the other, right? Friday night, I was up bar hopping and last night, I was reading. I’m reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I am about 3/4 of the way through and am really enjoying it. When I finally managed to put it down, I slept soundly until 9:45. That’s pretty late for me. I normally wake up on the weekends at 7:45, my regular weekday wake-up time. Don’t hate. I know I get up later than most people. I also don’t dry my hair in the morning which saves a huge chunk of time. Curly hair does better when it’s air-dried anyway. At least mine does.

Murphy was actin’ a fool this morning, so we went on a nice 3 mile walk into The Higlands. We were joined by Ira Glass on the ipod. I really enjoy my Sunday morning walks with Murphy and This American Life. Jason will deny it, but Murphy definitely favors him and is better behaved. I take him for a long walk and two hours later, he’s all rambunctious again. Jason takes him, and he’s wiped out for two days. Clearly the dog respects his father more, or maybe they just walk faster.

The jeans that I bought for Jason yesterday didn’t fit him, so I went back to Old Navy to exchange them. Normally, I would have just put it off, but I wanted to use the Friends and Family discount again. I went to a different Old Navy and somehow managed to find three things for myself. How did that happen? I also got him a different style of jeans. My new duds:

Basic white work shirt. It’s a little loose fitting which might or might not be as flattering as if it were more tailored, but at least I won’t be tugging at it all day.

IMG_2454.JPG

This might look like my Grandmother’s (who turned 88 yesterday, by the way) couch, but I like it for some reason.

IMG_2455.JPG

I always shy away from horizontal stripes. It stems from my mother telling my entire freaking life that horizontal stripes are not slimming. I decided F that, I like this cardigan.

IMG_2456.JPG

My personal shopper. I can blame the unmade bed on him, right? Believe what you want:

IMG_2458.JPG

Oh, and the sweater from the Gap yesterday. I like the color. It’s actually much more vibrant than it comes across in the picture.

IMG_2457.JPG

After my little shopping spree, I went to Pilates at LA Fitness. I used to go a lot on Sunday afternoons, but when half marathon training got into the final weeks, pilates was the first to go. I could definitely tell that I hadn’t been a while. It felt very challenging. You know what else feels challenging? Sitting straight up with my legs out in front of me. I know that sounds ridiculous, but it makes my hamstrings feel so tight. Just sitting! Am I just cursed with tight hamstrings forever? I try to stretch them out but it just doesn’t work. Suggestions, por favor!

Pilates made me hungry, and I wasn’t in the mood to wait! So I made a sort of panini/quesadilla thingy. I took a flat out wrap, spread hummus on half of it and put spinach, tomato and goat cheese on it. Then I stuck it in the George Foreman and let it crisp up. Voila. (I’m always paranoid that I’m going to write “viola”.)

IMG_2451.JPG

It was yum, but not enough food, so I decided to make some muffins. I had a box of Trader Joe’s Berry Bran muffin mix. It seemed to have a decent ingredient list. They tasted pretty good. I had to have two to make sure the first one wasn’t a fluke.

IMG_2452.JPG

I’m trying to clean the house but it’s just not working. Jason and I are not the neatest people, as evident in the background of my clothing pictures. I want the house to be clean; I just don’t know where to start or how to keep it clean. I have always been a messy person. It has caused some major roommate issues in the past. I just don’t know how to organize. I think that’s the problem. I am aware of the mess, but don’t know where to put everything, so it ends up on the kitchen table or worse, on the floor. Seriously. I think the In My Tummy house needs a cleaning intervention.

14 responses to “Sunday Night Cleaning Intervention

  1. I slept in today too!! Sooooooo nice… 🙂 Love weekends!! 🙂

    Love all the clothes you picked up today!! Especially the 2nd shirt!! I love the print!!

    Happy Birthday In My Tummy Grandma!! 🙂

    If you keep up with yoga, pilates, or stretching at least every other day, you WILL see results with your hamstrings loosening up! You just have to be very consistent! You read my yoga review… I couldn’t touch my toes when bending over and at the end of the month, I was grabbing the arches of my feet!!

    Have a good evening!! 🙂

  2. My golden retriever is always messing up my bed too 🙂

    I’ve been meaning to try that EXACT flatout wrap combination on my Foreman. I just need to drag my grill into work!

  3. angieinatlanta

    I loooove sleeping in! It puts me in a good mood from the jump of the day.

    And Murphy’s so cute! I had never seen a pic of him! He looks like a cuddler.

    I’m terribly inflexible as well; I can’t touch my toes!

  4. Nice finds! I NEED new clothes so badly but I am gonna try and hold out until I am home and near the Outlets for Thanksgiving break. Your lunch creation looks so creamy. It kind of made me crave cottage cheese even though I know that’s not one of the ingredients. Yum.

  5. I love to clean,but the one area that scares me is my closet. I need to get rid of some clothes and take them to Salvation Army.

  6. Oh I would love to come over and help you organize! (Is that weird? lol) I’m a little over the top with my organizing… Tobey has gotten used to it but it used to make him uncomfortable!

    Murphy is so cute!

  7. Oooh i’m going to have to look into that book! Great finds! I love the cardy – and those stripes are wide and not too contrasting so I think you’re good to go for sure! I used to love pilates at LA!

  8. i severely need a cleaning intervention. or a cleaning service.

  9. oooh love all the clothes! and i’ve been dying to read that book 🙂

  10. The top with roses is very cute!