Intervals

My lack of posting last night can be attributed to the fact that I went to Eddie’s Attic to see David Berkeley. I think I’ve talked about Eddie’s Attic before; it’s a little, intimate venue where a lot of singer-songwriter types play. I really enjoy hearing a man or woman with an acoustic guitar so I love this place. They also put the focus completely on the music. You aren’t allowed to talk nor can you smoke inside. We got there early and were able to score a table which was nice. Like I said, it’s a really small room, so there are only a small amount of tables and chairs. We ate dinner there. It wasn’t so great. I had a portobello burger and it was just eh. Oh well, it’s definitely a place to hear music, not to eat. David Berkeley is a local artist, but I’d seen him opening up for someone (it was either Ani Difranco or Howie Day) probably five years ago and always sort of kept up with him when he played around here. Check out this link to hear him.

The concert actually ended really early. It was over by 10:05. I was happy about that. I need to get my 7.5-8 hours of sleep. I woke up this morning and felt fine. I know I would have been cranky all day if I’d stayed out late. Around lunchtime, I had the same internal conflict that I always have. Do I chill out in my office, play online and maybe take a nap or do I go to the gym? It took some serious effort, but I managed to go to the gym. I always feel fine once I get there, but motivating to do it is always very hard.

I did 3 miles. I did an interval workout. I did a quarter mile at 3.5 mph, then a half mile at 6.7mph and repeated it for 3 miles. This took me 35 minutes. 6.7 is pretty fast for me, but it felt attainable. Meaning I didn’t feel like I was going to die after each running interval. Of course, after I finished my run and showered, I was very happy that I’d gone. Since it’s getting dark so early now, I have to come straight home to walk Murphy, so when I don’t work out at lunch, I have to come home first which definitely makes it hard to motivate to go back out.

For dinner, I had some butternut squash that I needed to use. Squash always reminds me of fries and what goes best with fries? Some sort of burger, of course. I made Meghann’s Zucchini Patties. Her picture is way prettier, but I made these following her directions exactly.

IMG_2471.JPG

They were really good. The only thing that I would have changed was to use regular mustard instead of dijon. That’s just personal preference though. I used some sort of Emeril’s Horseradish Dijon and it had a very strong taste.

TGIF, friends.

9 responses to “Intervals

  1. Glad you had a nice time at the concert!! You are so cool to be able to do that stuff on a weeknight. I’m a grandma and never even go to the store after 6:00 during the week.

    That dinner looks great!! 🙂

  2. “Her picture is way prettier, but I made these following her directions exactly.” That made me laugh b/c I NEVER used to pay attention to picture quality, and now I find myself admiring so many other people’s pictures!

    • I am always looking at other people’s pictures and wondering how come they look so much better than mine. I think the lighting is really poor in my house, for one thing. I’d love to have a nice camera. I’ve always been a big picture-taker.

  3. angieinatlanta

    I love intervals! I hardly ever manage to force myself to do ’em because…well…they’re hard! But whenever I do, I love how sweaty I get and how accomplished I feel at the end!

    I have never had butternut squash; I think I need to remedy that!

  4. Hey there! I just found your blog. You are so cute. I’m having so much fun reading around. I love it! can’t wait to read more!!

  5. Mmmm…..zucchini pancakes….sounds good right about now!

  6. Glad you enjoyed the zucchini cakes. 🙂