Date night and yogurt winner

Jason and I have been feeling like we haven’t seen each other in a while. His work schedule has been all over the place and a lot of times, I’m already asleep when he gets home. We decided a date night was definitely in order. We had two restaurant.com gift certificates in the house. One was for Cafe Istanbul and the other for Highland Tap. I was really excited to use the one for Cafe Istanbul. I love mediterranean food of any sort and from the website, the restaurant looked like it had a really fun atmosphere. We got all ready to go and I looked at the gift certificate and it was for Sunday through Thursday only. We debated going anyway, but thought it would be stupid since we have this gift certificate. So, Highland Tap it was.

Since we had a gift certificate, I felt like I could order a more expensive meal than normal. I had the Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna.

IMG_2482.JPG

and a few of Jason’s fries.

IMG_2483.JPG

I thought the actual tuna was very good, but didn’t like the brown sauce that the vegetables were in.

IMG_2481.JPG

Highland Tap is a cool little place. It’s basically a steak house but they have a good variety of other things. The front of the place is a bar and the back is a sit-down restaurant. I’ve never really been to the bar part. It might get really crowded late at night, as bars in that area often do, but the restaurant part is dark and intimate. Plus they have good (but unpictured) bread.

After dinner, we met up with my friend Danny at a bar for a while. Then I turned into a pumpkin and had to go home. I had a slight case of the drunchies and ate a little muffin and some Triscuits and cheese. It could have been worse, I guess. There was no pizza involved!

I have nothing planned for the entire weekend and love that. Actually, that’s not true. I’m supposed to go to a bowling birthday party tonight. I love bowling! It’s one of those things that I always have a lot of fun doing, but never think to do. Other than that, my weekend plans include working out and buying some food for Thanksgiving. I’m actually staying here for the holiday for the first time in a long time. So I am going to attempt to cook!

So, who gets the yogurt? Drumroll, please The winner of the yogurt is

Picture 1.png

Em from Homecooked Em! Email me your address and I will send it on to Chobani and they’ll send you your yogurt. Now I want to make all of these recipes on the Chobani page.

7 responses to “Date night and yogurt winner

  1. OMG! OMG! OMG!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for this contest Lee!! πŸ™‚ I have been pining over all of these chobani flavors and am so excited I can FINALLY try the pineapple chobani!! What a cool way to start off my day!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You’re my HEROINE right now, my friend!! πŸ™‚

    Ok, must breathe… πŸ˜‰ That turkish place sounds fantastic!! So glad you 2 were able to go out for a well-deserved, fancy, date night! Aren’t gift certificates like that so muchfun?! A few years ago, one of my students got us a very random GC to a fancy place in buckhead that we never would have gone to had we not gotten the GC. Anyway, enjoy the rest of your weekend – about to email you my address! πŸ™‚ Can I just say thank you one more time? THANK YOU!! πŸ™‚

  2. I wish all restaurant.com certificates were the same… they all have different (and sometimes annoying) fineprint!

    Congrats, Emily! I’m jealous that you guys get to try the pineapple Chobani and I don’t. I will find it one of these days…

    • We usually try to stay away from the ones that aren’t valid on the weekends, but in this case, I guess we weren’t paying attention when we bought it.

  3. i love your houndstooth coat πŸ™‚

  4. angieinatlanta

    I love date nights. I’ve gone to the bar at Highland Tap before and it’s nice – not as crowded and loud as others and more intimate.

    Your tuna looks yummy!

  5. Great restaurant review – I hope you get to go to Cafe Istanbul soon – sounds yummy!!

  6. HOUNDSTOOTH SPOTTING! jealous!!!!!

    and the tuna looks really good!