In need of comfort food

Sunday afternoons are made for napping, right? I hope so because I slept for like three hours on the couch. I guess I needed sleep? It’s been rainy and gloomy all day so it’s not like I was going to spend any time outside anyway. After I woke from my slumber, I got ready for the gym. There are two branches of LA Fitness close to my house in opposite directions. I usually go to the T. one but tonight I went to A. because I wanted to stop at Trader Joe’s and it’s closer to A. Big mistake. It was so f’n hot in there. There was all sorts of condensation on the inside of the windows even. I had intentions of running five miles but after running a mile and half through what felt like a swamp, I called it quits on the treadmill. It didn’t help that I was wearing pants instead of shorts. I told myself that since I’d wanted to run for approximately 50 minutes, if I was going to stop, I had to do 50 minutes of cardio anyway. So I did the stepmill for 20 minutes and then the elliptical for 15. I’m not a big sweater, but I was literally dripping sweat after this workout. I’m going to go to the T. LA Fitness from now on. The treadmills there have fans on them too.

I was kind of expecting TJs to be a madhouse, but it wasn’t crowded at all! They were giving away samples of this sweet potato dish and I decided to buy some to bring to our company potluck on Wednesday. Does your company do a potluck for Thanksgiving? If so, what are you bringing?

The rainy weather definitely had me craving comfort food for dinner. I made a variation of Ellie Krieger’s Macaroni and 4 Cheeses. I basically used ingredients I had in my house instead of most of the ingredients she used.

IMG_2562.JPG

Macaroni and Cheese (adapted from Ellie Krieger’s Mac and 4 Cheese recipe)
Serves 4

Cooking spray
8 oz brown rice elbow macaroni
about 8 oz butternut squash
1 cup skim milk
4 oz Trader Joe’s reduced fat Mexican cheese blend
1/4 cup fat free cottage cheese
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp mustard
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
shake of parmesan cheese

1. Preheat oven to 375. Cook macaroni according to directions.
2. Microwave cut up squash for about 4 minutes. Puree in food processor.
3. Mix milk and squash over medium heat until mixed together. Remove from heat.
4. Mix 4 cheese blend, salt, mustard and cayenne into squash/milk mixture. Mix with cooked macaroni.
5. Spray pan with cooking spray and bake for 20 minutes. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese for the last two minutes.

I thought this was pretty good. It had a bit of a sweeter taste from the squash that I wasn’t sure if I liked. After liberally dousing it with Frank’s, however, it was really good. I think this would be especially good for someone that didn’t like vegetables because you couldn’t really taste the squash, aside from the bit of sweetness.

I have this weird back ache. It started yesterday and it’s like a sore spot on my spine. Or what feels like on my spine. It’s just tender. Has this ever happened to anyone before? I guess I’ll just see if it gets any better.

15 responses to “In need of comfort food

  1. angieinatlanta

    Today was such a good day for napping. It took all of my strength to even get dressed this morning; that weather just screamed stay in your pjs in bed all day.

    Is the LA Fitness you’re talking about the Ansley one? I go there occasionally and it’s a sauna!

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    That macaroni and cheese is seriously making my mouth water!

    Rainy weather always puts me in a napping mood, but I actually resisted today somehow.

  3. That stinks about the gym. A similar thing happened in the spin room at my LA Fitness. The A/C broke making spin unbearable. It stunk!

    Yum to the mac n cheese. It looks great!

  4. I’m with Jenn – that mac & cheese is quite mouth watering! How fun to add in BN squash! I probably would’ve franked it too! šŸ˜‰

    From what you’re describing with your back, it sounds like maybe a pinched nerve from bending over or stretching the wrong way. I’ve had it happen before and it lasts a week and mysteriously goes away as it came. Probably nothing to worry about.

  5. Hot yoga is one thing, but hot running is another… yikes!

    That mac and cheese looks great- it puts the Annie’s that I had for dinner to shame. šŸ™‚

  6. Yum, that mac and cheese looks good! Perfect for the kind of day we had yesterday.

  7. I agree, it was a great day for napping! I did the same thing! Your mac & cheese looks delicious!! Thanks for the recipe.

  8. That mac & cheese looks so yummy!

  9. That mac & cheese sounds awesome, I love the addition of butternut squash!

  10. goo – nothing worse than a hot gym!! The mac & cheese looks and sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  11. i love ellie’s recipes. this one looks like a winner.. anything with carbs and cheese is a winner to me though šŸ˜›

  12. I’ve seen this recipe before – it looks AMAZING. Copying and pasting now!!

  13. thanks for posting your thoughts on the mac & cheese. I always wanted to try that recipe, but rarely get around to making mac & cheese from stratch.

    i finally got around to posting my “get to know my golden” post. thanks for the kick in the pants šŸ™‚