PMS

PMS manifests itself in the exact same way for me each month. I get furious about how messy the house is. It takes me a while to realize that my hormones are running amok and that some dirty dishes in the kitchen are not worth crying about. When this happens, I either want to stuff my face with chocolate and sit on my couch in sweats or go and run it out. Fortunately for my waistline, I chose to run.

I went to the normal-temperature LA Fitness tonight and managed to crank out the five miles that I wanted to do yesterday. It was so-so. Five miles is actually the most that I’ve run since my half, which was nearly a month ago. I’ve been doing a lot of 4 mile runs, but felt like I should step it up a bit. I do feel a bit better, but still on the cranky side.

Liz from In the Skinny gave me the Honest Scrap award. (I think. She tagged me after someone gave her the award so I think that means I got the award too!)

honest-scrap22.jpg

You have to tell 10 things about yourself and tag 7 people to do the same.

1. I moved to Atlanta for no reason. I didn’t have a job here. I just liked the city and wanted to move.
2. I was an RA in college. I was also on the Women’s Rugby team.
3. One of my most despised foods in the world is Blue Cheese. I hate it. Jason hates it too.
4. When I was a freshman in high school, I weighed 40 pounds more than I do now.
5. I almost went to the University of Pittsburgh. I got wait-listed at UVM and didn’t think I was going to get in. I was enrolled at Pitt and even had a housing assignment. Then I got into UVM.
6. My parents got divorced when I was three. I have no memory of them living together.
7. If I have a picture in front of me, I can draw it pretty well. But ask me to draw from memory (say of a dog) and I can’t at all.
8. I have never been to a tanning salon.
9. I did not wear makeup or carry a purse until I was in my mid 20s.
10. I sometimes take naps during my lunch break.

I’m not so great at the tagging people part. Consider yourself tagged if you want. Cop out!

12 responses to “PMS

  1. Naps during lunch breaks?! Nice! I hate blue cheese too! I like your fun facts!

    good for you for hitting 5 miles!! I hear you – the weather has been SUCH a weird mess.

  2. angieinatlanta

    I’m totally PMSing right now as well and it hits me the same way! Example – I dropped a glass and burst into tears. And I only chipped it. 🙂 But seriously, at that moment, it was like a tragedy.

    Thank goodness we only endure this once a month!

  3. ughhh – PMS. It’s a LOT worse the older I get – not so much the emotions, but the CRAVINGS. I seriously cannot go one day without chocolate a week before I start. Okay, I can….but you wouldn’t want to be around me.

    Ha! you weren’t kidding about the pillow!! Oh my gosh…I wish I had a place to nap at work. I have a couple times in my car, but being that it’s going to be in the 40’s for the rest of the week, I don’t see that happening anymore. COMPLETELY recharges me, though.

  4. I am glad that you got to complete a better temperature work out.

    PMS is more worst enemy and it manifests itself differently every month.

  5. hahhaha ohhhhh PMS….why do you do these things to us? Glad you went with the run and that it was a good one. Fun award- I love that you moved to Atlanta for no reason- thats why we moved to Charleston too- we just loved it!

  6. I am the same exact way with PMS. I always need to stuff my face with chocolate and clean everything. I also get very emotional and moody. No fun! That’s so cool that you moved just because! Takes some guts!

  7. Ugh, PMS. My hormones are so out of whack right now that my symptoms change every time.

    Loved reading about your 10 things! How brave of you to move to a city just because – and looks like it worked out!!

  8. I am right there with you on the whole PMS thing. I was just sitting here wondering why my hair is bothering me so much and why this sweater is so damn itchy and then it dawned on me! Good for you for running out your bad feelings though. I am thinking an early morning run is in order for me tomorrow so that I don’t go through another day feeling like I want to crawl out of my skin!

  9. I love learning some random facts about you! I used to take naps during my lunch breaks too….before teaching, obviously. 🙂