Happy Thanksgiving

Our first year cooking for Thanksgiving dinner went off without a hitch. We started off with salad.

IMG_2575.JPG

Then we had “grilled” corn. Please ignore that disgustingly dirty outdoor table.

IMG_2573.JPG

Danny brought stuffing. I think it was Stove Top. That’s okay with me. I heart me some Stove Top stuffing. Always have.

IMG_2579.JPG

Green Beans. I used this recipe but used fresh green beans, crushed garlic and not as much parmesan cheese.

IMG_2578.JPG

Sweet potato casserole. I used Angela’s recipe for the potatoes, but skipped the topping in favor of marshmallows. This was very good. A tad bit sweet, but my favorite dish of the whole meal.

IMG_2582.JPG

And of course, the turkey. Our little turkey breast.

IMG_2581.JPG

Obviously, we need a bigger table.

IMG_2580.JPG

We had a pumpkin pie for dessert but didn’t eat it! I had more sweet potatoes instead and the boys didn’t eat dessert. After dinner, we sat around and watched The Office Wedding, which I’d seen before but had fun watching again.

Dinner went well, but I’ll have to say I missed being with my family. I have lived in Atlanta for 7.5 years and this is only the second time that I haven’t gone up to MD for Thanksgiving. I was glad that Jason didn’t have to work (until midnight) but I kind of missed the hubbub of a bigger gathering. I felt like I should have been in MD, with Jason, of course. Next year, I suppose. It’s just hard because of his work schedule. He works in an industry that’s open 365 days a year so when most people have nice 3 or 4 day weekends, like this one, he doesn’t. I told him to request off for next Thanksgiving as soon as he’s allowed.

I’m going to eat some pie. How come it’s totally acceptable to eat pie for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving?

4 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Everything looks great! Ain’t nothin wrong with some stove top! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. angieinatlanta

    Congrats on hosting your first Thanksgiving!

    I used to eat StoveTop for dinner in college and I still definitely have a soft spot for it.

    Your sweet potato casserole looks awesome!

  3. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I just love stuffing! All your food looks great, and I’m glad you had such a wonderful day!

  4. Wow, everything looks amazing! Next year, I think I’ll take a stab at sweet potato casserole. Yours looks SO good. Surprisingly, no one ever makes it at our Thanksgiving! We just have regular canned sweet potatoes…which…I could honestly live without. ๐Ÿ™‚