End of the weekend

How in the world did my 4-day weekend come to an end? Surprisingly, I don’t really feel that bummed about going back to work tomorrow. I think having so much time off, with no real obligations, was good for me. Of course, it helps to know that I’ll have another long weekend in a month. I am going home to Maryland for that one.

The weather could not have been nicer this weekend. It was probably in the upper 50s the entire time. I took the hyper dog to the park on Saturday morning. He had a great time. I took a few pictures while we were there. The best part of the park outing was that Murphy was exhausted for the rest of the day!

The Midtown Atlanta skyline:

IMG_2601.JPG

I like the lines in this:

IMG_2602.JPG

After we got back, Jason and I went to our favorite salad bar for lunch.

IMG_2607.JPG

We hadn’t been in a while and the cashier told us that she missed us! I guess we’re regulars. I just got the cold bar because they didn’t have the soup that I like, so I figured there was no point getting the hot bar too.

IMG_2608.JPG

The rest of the day, I pretty much just farted around the house. I didn’t feel like going to the gym, so I did some random On Demand fitness thing. It was 45 minutes of weight lifting. I thought I was going to stay in because most of my friends were out of town and Jason was working, but one of my friends got back into town early so I met her out for a while.

Today was pretty productive, considering I lazed around until noon. After I finally managed to get up, I met a friend and we went to two malls. I ended up getting a sweater for my mother and some stuff for myself. I also had an epiphany about what to get Jason. I found the perfect one online when I got home and a code for free shipping. Score. After the mall, I took Murphy on a 2.5 mile walk, went to the gym and did the elliptical for a half hour and went grocery shopping. Whew. Busy day.

I had been totally craving enchiladas for like a month now, so I took Errign’s advice and used Jenna’s famous chicken enchilada recipe. I added some peppers and used fat-free sour cream instead of light. It turned out wonderfully. Jason is going to be so excited when he gets home from work and there are enchiladas in the fridge. I would like to try this with refried beans instead of chicken; I think that would be good.

IMG_2610.JPG
IMG_2616.JPG

Okay, I take it back about not having the Sunday night blues. I don’t want to get up and go to work tomorrow. Although I will be glad to get back into my normal routine. I am such a creature of routine. My mother says that I have been like that since I was a baby. Having four days off was fun, but I didn’t exactly know what to do with myself and ended up spending WAY too much money. I’m declaring this work week a non-spending week. I have groceries in the house. There is no reason that I need to spend any money until Friday (might go to a concert). Do you think I can do it?

14 responses to “End of the weekend

  1. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I’ve definitely got the Sunday night blues 😦 Not wanting to go back to classes tomorrow!!!

  2. I think you can do it! I may be in on the challenge as well b/c of the car purchase… 😉

    I love that first picture of Midtown… it’s gorgeous!

    I’ve never made enchiladas before, but I love them so maybe I should try!

  3. Good luck on the no spending money challenge! For me it’s those little pit stops at Kroger or Publix for “just one thing.” that add up.

  4. I made those same enchiladas a few months ago – didn’t you love them?!

  5. hello! i’ve been following this for about a month now (been meaning to tell you, but keep forgetting). it’s great and i look forward to reading it during my lunch break. the first photo of midtown is beautiful. makes me want to visit atlanta again (that was a long time ago, before you moved there). maybe we will!

  6. I am definitely a creature of habit…which I guess is good and bad. I don’t mind AT ALL when things are boring and uneventful, but spontaneous I am not!

  7. angieinatlanta

    Mmmm…those chicken enchiladas look awesome!

  8. I am glad you liked the enchiladas too – I’m always nervous when I recommend a recipe 🙂

    I think I need to make those again soon!

  9. Those enchiladas look delicious! I need to try that instead of being lazy and buying Amy’s frozen enchiladas lol!

  10. I think you can totally do it! I want those enchiladas – yum! I hear you – time off with no obligations – love it!

  11. Those enchiladas look fantastic!! 🙂 It sure was a gorgeous weekend in the ATL wasn’t it?! Your pictures are so lovely!!