I love Ellie Krieger

So good.

IMG_2617.JPG

Ellie Krieger’s Aromatic Noodles with Lime Peanut Sauce (from foodnetwork.com)
Serves 6

Ingredients
3/4 pound spinach linguine or whole-wheat spaghetti
2 cups (about 9 ounces) broccoli florets
2 cups (about 6 ounces) snow peas, trimmed
2 cups (about 6 ounces) sugar snap peas, trimmed
1/2 cup natural creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1 scallion, cut into pieces
3/4 inch fresh ginger, finely grated
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 cup shelled unsalted peanuts
Directions
Cook the pasta in a large pot of water according to the directions on the package. Drain and rinse with cold water. While the pasta is cooking put the broccoli in a steamer basket over a large pot of boiling water and steam it for 3 minutes. Add the snow peas and sugar snap peas and steam for 2 minutes more.

Toast the peanuts in a dry pan over a medium heat until they become fragrant, about 3 minutes. Set them aside to cool. Make the sauce by pureeing the peanut butter, soy sauce, water, vinegar, lime juice, scallion, ginger, sugar and red pepper flakes in a food processor or blender until smooth.

Right before serving, toss the pasta with 3/4 cup of the peanut sauce. Divide into 6 serving bowls and top each serving with the vegetables. Drizzle the remaining sauce over the vegetables. Coarsely chop the peanuts, sprinkle them on top and serve.

Of course, since I can’t follow a recipe to save my life, I omitted a bunch of things. First off, I only cooked enough pasta for two servings, but I cut the sauce in half. I like my veggies saucy. I only used one type of pea, I forget which one. I didn’t use the scallion, ginger or unsalted peanuts. I also mixed the sauce with the veggies and pasta together, not just with the noodles. And guess what? It was fabulous.

18 responses to “I love Ellie Krieger

  1. Ellie rocks! I have never made one of her recipes I didn’t love. Such a tasty dish with lots of healthy veggies.

  2. OH MY GOD. Can you please send me over some of this asap! I am reading food blogs on an empty stomach, never a good idea. Especially when you post about something that contains lime juice and peanut butter, only two of my favorite ingredients! Hope you enjoy it thoroughly!

  3. I love watching Ellie cook! She just radiates healthiness! Love her!! πŸ™‚ Your dish looks wonderful!!

  4. angieinatlanta

    Yum! You have had two delicious dinners in a row! I’ve never made anything by Ellie Krieger; I get really intimidated by recipes for some reason.

  5. Swoon. I love pasta.

  6. eaternotarunner

    That looks SO good……yummmm πŸ™‚

  7. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Yum! That does look really good. I’ve never tried any of her recipes.

  8. I watch the Food Network so often but never make any of the recipes from it! That looks great… you have been a recipe queen lately!

  9. Oh my gosh….WOW. I’ve actually never made any of her recipes, or watched her show. This looks amazing!!

  10. That looks amazing!! I need to turn on the Food Network now!

  11. i saw you FB this and DANG it looks so good! i love ellie also. thanks for sharing.

  12. Looks amazing–too bad I’m allergic to peanuts. πŸ˜›

    I hope you enjoyed! πŸ™‚